>>
搜索 >>
EN
>>
<<
>> randian 《燃点》艺术网站  >> 关注+燃点  >>
2017.10.13 Friday, 文 / 墨虎恺
大画

艺术并没有对应的摩天楼指数——该概念是指在经济危机开始之前人们往往会丧心病狂地建造破纪录的摩天大楼。艺术世界的顶端似乎对危机视而不见(幸好,还没投资建造高楼)。然而通货膨胀于艺术世界是可见的,这体现在失控的拍卖价格、私人美术馆与艺术存储设施的大肆扩张,以及填满了在建的巨大空洞的美术馆的艺术品本身之上。

且无论是与非,绘画仍然是艺术界的主流,而这种艺术又为尺幅所规制,尺幅俞大更易引人注目。在此列举三个例子。贾蔼力的《世纪(Century)》(2008-2015)有15米长。尺寸巨大。然而,Jonas Burgert的《Zaitlaich》(2017)则有22米长,Jean-Baptiste Bernadet的壁画《Untitled (Fugue 2016-01-12)》则超过了23米!那么,让我们先从房间中的大象开始谈起。

Jia Aili at CAC Malaga 2017 installation view 贾蔼力在CAC马拉加当代艺术中心的展览现场,2017

Jia Aili at CAC Malaga 2017 installation view
贾蔼力在CAC马拉加当代艺术中心的展览现场,2017

Jonas Burgert at Blain Southern Berlin 2017 (image courtesy the artist and Blain Southern) Jonas Burgert在柏林的Blain | Southern画廊的展览现场,2017(图片由艺术家和Blain | Southern画廊提供)

Jonas Burgert at Blain Southern Berlin 2017 (image courtesy the artist and Blain Southern)
Jonas Burgert在柏林的Blain | Southern画廊的展览现场,2017(图片由艺术家和Blain | Southern画廊提供)

Jean-Baptiste Bernadet Almine Rech Gallery Brussels 2016 (photo Chris Moore) Jean-Baptiste Bernadet在布鲁塞尔的Almine Rech画廊的展览现场,2016(摄影:墨虎恺)

Jean-Baptiste Bernadet Almine Rech Gallery Brussels 2016 (photo Chris Moore)
Jean-Baptiste Bernadet在布鲁塞尔的Almine Rech画廊的展览现场,2016(摄影:墨虎恺)

说真的,为什么要这么大?!

巨幅的画作在艺术叙述之外,总具有另外的战略性意图。艺术家想以此表明他们的事业已经“抵达,”或到达了一个“转折点”。受限于有限的资源,由于要投入相当的财力、物力、空间和时间,这类作品往往是委托制作的。由米开朗基罗绘制的举世闻名的西斯廷教堂天顶壁画(1508-1512)有40米乘14米之大,它是由教皇尤利乌斯二世委托绘制的(尤为钟爱这幅壁画的他委托制作了《最后的审判》,1536-1641)。这样的委托是由宗教热情和劝人改宗的决心所推动的,即为了上帝的荣耀,也要使群众产生敬畏之心(这可能与想在企业大堂和购物中心里放置一个大型艺术品的意愿没什么不同)。而艺术家即便有完美的计划,也需等待天时地利人和——要等那些财大气粗的人提供资源支持(除非艺术家自己资源丰富)。

谈到资源,时间往往是最弥足珍贵的,因为投入大量时间创作一件大且有可能卖不掉的东西,意味着你不能做些规模小小、不符合普通藏家的作品——这是自工业时代兴起的艺术赞助的主要宗旨,并一直延续至今日。进入职业生涯中期的毕加索当然有资源。可有趣的是,他的《格尔尼卡(Guernica)》(1937;349 cm x 776 cm)完成于1937年6月,仅在启发他创作此件作品的4月26日轰炸发生后的两个月。机会并非全部,时机也很重要——以毕加索的这件作品为例,西班牙内战期间正好发生了法西斯主义暴行。

然后,你需要在某个地方展示如此巨大的东西(即使最可爱的小孩也耗费了大量心血)。现代主义建筑——尤其是宽敞的企业大堂——为此提供了很好的机会。因为大型的艺术品不仅关系到戏剧性的事件和历史,也关乎宣传和原生的自我营销,这对艺术家、赞助者以及房地产开发商来说都是一样的。三者间的羁绊理不清剪不断。艺术家必须成为一个指挥者,如建筑师和导演一样,用他们的想象力来处理许多利益相关者的竞利益和(他们的)金融权益。任何一位创作大型画作的艺术家——无论作品是为了宽阔的企业大堂、公共空间、奥运会的开幕式、还是要在“艺术无限”单元大放异彩——无论结果如何,艺术家都依然渴望展示其艺术性。

那么问题来了:我们真的需要这样大尺寸的艺术品吗,尤其在数码时代?当拍卖商说理想的一幅画大小只要能够塞得进纽约公寓的货梯时(画里还要添点红色进去),他们仅是在半开玩笑。虽然这种做法会推动拍卖中的基本销售,但它不是挥霍无度的富人所关心的,他们有更多需要考虑的事(更何况仓库是能够租用的)。另外就公开展示而言,规模是很重要的。虽然艾未未因为某些笨拙的作品而遭到了批评,但这些作品总能打动民众。《记住(Remembering)》(2009)是一件在慕尼黑美术馆展示的装置,由9000个孩子的书包构成,它直言不讳且坦率动人。然而史诗般的作品很少引发轰动的销售。如果这类作品的策略性意图奏效,那么它们就能树立声望。然而如果没有机会去展示,那么绘画只不过是件劳而无功的事情。在这年头,展示的机会逐渐移到了手机上。因此,画作的尺寸渐渐趋向适应于Instagram的自拍。人们也会感觉渐渐再也见不到大尺寸画作了。

尽管如此,有时候尺寸还是很重要的。像欣赏杰克逊·波洛克的巨画——如他的《蓝色枝条(Blue Poles)》(1957;2.1 x 4.86米)——非凡体验,很大程度上你不光要从远处看,还要必须与它离得非常近。一位观者不仅视觉上而且生理上与它“满幅式(all-over)”平面接触,他的动作,是绘画结构的一部分,是作品DNA的一部分。詹姆斯·罗森奎斯特(James Rosenquist)的画作需要广告牌般大小的尺幅,不然它就是个草图——称不上作品。杰夫·昆斯(Jeff Koons)的作品往往需要庞大的尺寸(即便明显看起来不需要)。

然后,还有艺术家和收藏家的性别问题。不出意料,男人有想制造并购买大件东西的习惯。虽然越来越多的女性常创作巨幅作品(如芭芭拉·克鲁格(Barbara Kruger)和卡塔琳娜·格罗斯(Katharina Grosse)),但这仍是极少数的。这类案例包括一次性的项目,诸如雷切尔·怀特瑞德(Rachel Whiteread)的《堤岸(EMBANKMENT)》(2005)或桃瑞丝·沙尔塞朵(Doris Salcedo)的《Shibboleth》(2007)这两件为泰特现代美术馆空洞的涡轮大厅特别制作的作品,不过可以说女性往往甚少关注尺寸。

刚才提到的所有作品都涉及雕塑装置和建筑装置。能够有更多进行大规模创作的机会,在很大程度上得益于雕塑和建筑的发展。人格化是极简主义雕塑发展的核心,而理查德·塞拉(Richard Serra)纪念碑式的作品则体现了尺寸胜过人格化。就绘画来说,巨幅尺寸的好处就不那么明显了。画作尺寸越大,就会变得更加建筑化,或者说电影化。近来,欣赏到大尺寸图像的机会已越来越多不再局限于电影院之中了。现在,观影主要靠的是电视屏幕。虽然这为大尺幅的绘画创造了机会,但尚不清楚是好是坏。我们要再一次提问,大幅画作创作背后的动机是什么?

近期具有纪念碑规模的墙上绘画案例是朱丽叶·麦哈瑞托(Julie Mehretu)巨大的双联画《嚎叫(HOWL)》,该作品最近在旧金山现代艺术博物馆展出。这不是麦哈瑞托第一次制作大东西,其于2012年在第十三届卡塞尔文献展的Documenta Halle展出的作品尤为突出。《嚎叫》的标题引用了阿兰•金斯伯格(Alan Ginsberg)1955年创作的具有时代象征性意义的诗歌,作品展现了西方与美国的历史及艺术史,具体内容则是美国与它的神话,以及创造它的人民——探险家(最初的、西方的)、移居者、外来的移民,以及奴隶和现在的美国人。不知为何,我希望这件作品能留在创作这件作品的哈莱姆区废弃的教堂之中。那么它到底有多大呢?每块面板有27英尺/8.32米宽,32英尺/9.75米高。一丝一毫不差。

Julie Mehretu, HOWL, eon (I, II), 2017 (installation view, SFMOMA); courtesy the artist and Marian Goodman Gallery; commissioned by the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art; promised gift of Helen and Charles Schwab; © Julie Mehretu; photo: Matthew Millman Photography 朱丽叶·麦哈瑞托,“ HOWL, eon (I, II)”,2017(旧金山现代艺术博物馆展览现场);图片由艺术家和玛丽安·古德曼画廊提供;作品由旧金山现代艺术博物馆委托制作;是Helen and Charles Schwab承诺的礼物;版权归朱丽叶·麦哈瑞托所有;摄影:Matthew Millman Photography

Julie Mehretu, HOWL, eon (I, II), 2017 (installation view, SFMOMA); courtesy the artist and Marian Goodman Gallery; commissioned by the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art; promised gift of Helen and Charles Schwab; © Julie Mehretu; photo: Matthew Millman Photography
朱丽叶·麦哈瑞托,“ HOWL, eon (I, II)”,2017(旧金山现代艺术博物馆展览现场);图片由艺术家和玛丽安·古德曼画廊提供;作品由旧金山现代艺术博物馆委托制作;是Helen and Charles Schwab承诺的礼物;版权归朱丽叶·麦哈瑞托所有;摄影:Matthew Millman Photography

Jean-Baptiste Bernadet

Jean-Baptiste Bernadet “Untitled” (Fugue) (detail, photo Chris Moore)
Jean-Baptiste Bernadet的《无题》(赋格)(局部,摄影:墨虎恺)

Jean-Baptiste Bernardet, “无题 (赋格 2016)”

有时画廊提供了创作大幅绘画绝佳的机会。去年,Jean-Baptiste Bernardet在布鲁塞尔Almine Rech画廊展出了《无题(赋格2016-01-12)》。作品由十二块依次悬挂的面板组成,形成一块闪闪发光的壁画——作为冥想的对象存在着,此外戏剧性的背景明显会令人想起莫奈的睡莲系列(法国政府专门在巴黎Musée de l’Orangerie为该系列造了一对特制的房间,用于展示该系列的两个大场景)。作品的欣赏体验明显受观赏位置影响(展览标题为“那么远,那么近”)。下行狭窄的楼梯通往画廊长长的展厅。《无题(赋格)》沿着右手边的墙壁展示开来。画廊在与其相对的另一面墙造了个简朴的长凳,邀请观者安静地坐下并注视着前方的景色,同时降低他们观看的视点,进而有效地抬高了画面。当一个人沿着画作行走之时,无论直接走还是拐来拐去,都会产生与众不同的体验。然而当房间里人满为患之时会产生另一种体验,色彩在移动的形状之间隐约出现。

Jonas Burgert studio 2017 (photo Chris Moore) Jonas Burgert的工作室,2017(摄影:墨虎恺)

Jonas Burgert studio 2017 (photo Chris Moore)
Jonas Burgert的工作室,2017(摄影:墨虎恺)

Jonas Burgert, “Zaitlaich”

恰逢在今年柏林画廊周期间,Jonas Burgert完成了他的《Zeitlach》。周六,在Jonas的工作室搬到Blain Southern的画廊之前(工作室和画廊中弥漫的油制颜料的味道令人眩晕),我去拜访了他。Burgert以怪异融合了精神心理的具象作品著称,一直在考验自己的勇气。在他柏林宽阔的工作室内,切掉了屋顶梁的空间刚刚放得下几乎从天花板悬到地板的画作,(其大小刚好可以放进画廊展示空间)。Burgert此前创作小幅画作的主题,在《Zeitlach》中则融入了画家博斯式的战场。在与主战场相对的墙上,有许多模糊的形象——上流社会的食尸鬼和小丑。它们与观者站在一起。不过让我们回过头来面对画作。作品是惊人的,因为它令人生畏。就像在韦斯·克雷文的恐怖电影中,讽刺的喜剧人物在成为巨人的那一刻,变成了某种阴险可怕的东西。它是一种滑稽的戏仿,观者必然是玩笑/攻击的对象。只不过巨大的尺寸使它变得自主,变成一头虎视眈眈盯着你的野蛮自由的怪兽,在绚丽的颜色和怪诞的对比之下,观者显得微不足道且可笑,你是哈哈大笑还是拔腿逃命?

Jia Aili

Jia Aili “Century”, courtesy DSL Collection and CAC Malaga
贾蔼力,《世纪》,图片由CAC马拉加当代艺术中心和DSL收藏提供——有六米高,15米长

贾蔼力《世纪》

贾蔼力于1979年出生于辽宁省丹东市。他近期在富有影响力的马拉加当代艺术中心举办的展览,成为其职业生涯一个重要的节点(不是最后一个,因为他最近被高古轩签下)。《世纪》,之前名为《我们来自世纪》(2008-2015),是在潘那维申超70毫米的尺寸(Panavision-Ultra-70-scale)之内,展现了高达6米,15米长的浩瀚风景。它在2008年11月首次在由艺美基金会(Art Mia Foundation)组织、DoART北京举办的个展“冬眠”中亮相,当时作品还是未完成的状态。并在这个节骨点上由DSL艺术收藏介入。任何熟知DSL艺术收藏的人都知道,Dominique和Sylvain Lévy喜欢收藏大件的作品,因此巨大的尺寸不会令他们望而却步。现在这是该作品第一次以完美的状态亮相。

近年来贾蔼力的作品越来越大,但《世纪》可能已到了极限。贾蔼力采用了近乎宣传板和电影广告板般大小的尺寸。低垂的天空和暗淡的风景大量吸收了从《银翼杀手》(1982)到《盗梦空间》(2010)等好莱坞科幻片的美学。核爆炸、不合时宜的飞行员以及挥之不去的旧事幻现状态(有趣的是贾蔼力的家乡靠近朝鲜的边界),其中透着愈发浓烈的恐慌感和失去某个重要之物的恐怖厄运。如果画作较小,小到如戈雅用于广泛散播的蚀刻版画系列《战争的灾难》(1810-1820)那样的尺寸,则不会产生同样的效果。

***

戈雅的版画则对巨幅艺术作品提出了最严肃的诘问——巨大的画作为谁而作?西斯廷教堂一直名气鼎盛,令人趋之若鹜。但除了阅读自由港清单的保险公司人员,享有特权的企业大堂、私人美术馆以及一两个购物中心之外,现在还有谁会看到规模最大的画作呢?如同沙漠中的花朵,这样的作品要蛰伏多年,才会惊鸿一现,随后马上又进入恒温的冬眠状态。没错,目前大多数艺术也难逃如此命运,甚至公共艺术收藏也不例外,但在Instagram和手机的时代,庞大如霸王龙般的绘画处在侏罗纪的劣势之中。不过,得再次强调,男孩往往喜欢恐龙。

Jonas Burgert 2017 (photo Chris Moore) Jonas Burgert,2017(摄影:墨虎恺)

Jonas Burgert 2017 (photo Chris Moore)
Jonas Burgert,2017(摄影:墨虎恺)

贾蔼力个展
CAC马拉加当代艺术中心(Calle Alemania, S/N, 29001 Málaga),2017年3月17日到6月18日

Jonas Burgert“ZEITLAICH”
Blain | Southern(Potsdamer Straße 77–87 (Mercator Höfe), 10785 Berlin),2017年4月29日到7月29日

Jean-Baptiste Bernadet“那么远,那么近”
Almine Rech画廊(20 Rue de de l’Abbaye, Brussels),2016年4月20日到2016年7月30日

>>
SEARCH >>
EN
>>
<<
>> randian 燃点 art magazine >> fan randian 燃点 on weibo >> get randian 燃点 on email >> follow randian 燃点 on twitter >> friend randian 燃点 on facebook >>
2017.10.13 Fri, by Christopher Moore
Big Pictures

Art has no equivalent of the Skyscraper Index, the notion that record-breaking towers tend to be built, hubristically, just prior to an economic crisis. The top end of the art world seems to ignore crises altogether (at least the part that doesn’t invest in tall buildings). Inflationary tendencies are observable in the art world, though, in uppity auction prices, the spread of private museums and art storage facilities and, seemingly, in art itself, no doubt partly to fill all the cavernous museums being built.

Painting, rightly or wrongly still the primary index of art world, is a sincere disciple of scale, because a statement writ large gets more attention. We will look at three recent examples: Jia Aili’s “Century” (2008–2015) is 15-meters-long. It is huge. Compare it though with Jonas Burgert’s painting “Zaitlaich” (2017), which is 22 meters long, and Jean-Baptiste Bernadet’s mural painting “Untitled (Fugue 2016-01-12)”, at over 23 meters long! But let’s first begin with the elephant in the room.

Jia Aili at CAC Malaga 2017 installation view

Jia Aili at CAC Malaga 2017 installation view

Jonas Burgert at Blain Southern Berlin 2017 (image courtesy the artist and Blain Southern)

Jonas Burgert at Blain Southern Berlin 2017 (image courtesy the artist and Blain Southern)

Jean-Baptiste Bernadet Almine Rech Gallery Brussels 2016 (photo Chris Moore)

Jean-Baptiste Bernadet Almine Rech Gallery Brussels 2016 (photo Chris Moore)

Seriously, why so big?!

Very large paintings always have a strategic purpose beyond their artistic narrative. The artist wants to signal that they have “arrived” or that their career has reached a “turning point”. Because of the necessary resources, logistics, space and time involved, often these works are commissioned. Most famously, Michelangelo’s Sistine Chapel ceiling fresco (1508–1512), measuring a whopping 40 meters x 14 meters, was commissioned by Pope Julius II (who liked it so much, he commissioned “The Last Judgment”, 1536–1641). This was driven by religious fervor and proselytizing intent—for the glory of God and to inspire awe in the flock (perhaps not so different from the intentions behind placing huge art works in corporate lobbies and shopping centers). While an artist may have the perfect project they also need the opportunity—save for those in the happy but rare position of possessing the resources themselves.

Speaking of resources, time is often the most valuable, because investing so much of it in something huge and probably unsalable means you cannot make smaller, collector-size works—the mainstay of art patronage that arose in the industrial age and which overwhelmingly remains with us today. Mid-career Picasso certainly had the resources. Interestingly though, his “Guernica” (1937; 349 cm x 776 cm), was completed in June 1937, barely two months after the bombing on April 26 that inspired it. Opportunity is not all, occasion is also crucial—in this case, Fascist atrocities during the Spanish Civil War.

Then you need somewhere to display the bloody thing (as even the most loved children can be taxing). Modernist architecture—particularly the capacious corporate lobbies—provides great opportunities, because big art is not only about drama and history but also propaganda and raw self-promotion, for artist, patron, and real-estate developers alike. The knot is complex and confusing. The artist must become an impresario who, like architects and film directors, must juggle their vision with the competing interests of many stakeholders and (their) financial interests. An artist of any merit who works on a large-scale—whether that involves a big corporate or public space, the opening of the Olympics, or a big splash at Art Unlimited—still very much wants to preserve artistic purpose, however that might pan out.

The question inevitably poses itself: do we really need such scale, particularly in the digital age? Auctioneers are only half-joking when they say that ideally a painting should be able to fit in the goods-lift of a New York apartment (and include some red somewhere). While that may drive bread-and-butter sales at auctions, it is not the concern of the lavishly wealthy, of which there are ever more (and besides, storage can be hired). And for public statements, scale does matter. Increasingly Ai Weiwei is criticized for the heavy-handedness of some of his works but they have a way of connecting with people. “Remembering (2009), an installation with 9000 children’s backpacks, shown at the Haus der Kunst, Munich, was bluntly grandiloquent and equally bluntly eloquent. Yet epic works rarely make epic sales. If they succeed in their strategic purpose, they can establish a reputation. Without the opportunity to display a painting, however, it is merely a folly. These days, opportunity for display increasingly means mobile phones. Scale can therefore simply provide a popular setting for an Instagram selfie. For something so big, one cannot help but feel something is being lost.

For all that, there are moments when size does matter. The transcendent experience of encountering a large Jackson Pollock, like his “Blue Poles” (1957; 2.1 x 4.86 meters), relies heavily on the fact you have to get up very close to it as much as to see it from far away. The movement of the viewer across its “all over” surface, not just with the eyes but physically across it, is part of the painting’s architecture, of its DNA. A James Rosenquist needs the scale of the billboard or else it is just a preparatory study—not the real thing. Jeff Koons almost always needs size (even when it apparently doesn’t).

Then there is the issue of gender, both for artists and collectors. Unsurprisingly, men have a habit of wanting to make and buy big things. While there are increasingly more women (think of Barbara Kruger and Katharina Grosse) who regularly work on a grand scale, it is still relatively rare. There are one-off projects, such as Rachel Whiteread’s “EMBANKMENT” (2005) or Doris Salcedo’s “Shibboleth” (2007), both purpose-made for Tate Modern’s cavernous Turbine Hall, but it is fair to say women tend to be less preoccupied with size.

The works just mentioned all involve sculptural and architectural installations. The expanded opportunities for working on a large scale have greatly benefited the development of sculptural and architectural work. Anthropomorphism was central to the development of minimalist sculpture but Richard Serra’s monumental work is about the anthropomorphic being overwhelmed by scale. The benefits to painting are less obvious. With painting, the larger the scale, the more architectural it becomes. Or cinematic—until recently, our experience of large-scale images occurred more often than not in a cinema. Now the experience of film is primarily on a video screen. This creates an opening for large-scale painting but what sort is unclear. Again, what are the motivations driving its creation?

A recent example of a monumental scale wall-based work is Julie Mehretu’s vast diptych “HOWL”, on view recently at the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art. It is not the first time Mehretu has worked on a large scale, most notably in the Documenta Halle in 2012 at documenta (13) in Kassel. “HOWL”, the title referencing Alan Ginsberg’s 1955 era-defining poem, and responding to Western and American history and art history, is about American space and its mythology, and the people who made it, the explorers (original and Western), the settlers, immigrants, and slaves, and also the people who live there now. Somehow I wish it had stayed in the deconsecrated church in Harlem in which it was painted. And how big is it? Each panel is 27 feet / 8.32 meters wide and 32 feet / 9.75 meters high. And they need every inch.

Julie Mehretu, HOWL, eon (I, II), 2017 (installation view, SFMOMA); courtesy the artist and Marian Goodman Gallery; commissioned by the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art; promised gift of Helen and Charles Schwab; © Julie Mehretu; photo: Matthew Millman Photography

Julie Mehretu, “HOWL, eon (I, II)”, 2017 (installation view, SFMOMA); courtesy the artist and Marian Goodman Gallery; commissioned by the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art; promised gift of Helen and Charles Schwab; © Julie Mehretu; photo: Matthew Millman Photography

Jean-Baptiste Bernadet

Jean-Baptiste Bernadet “Untitled” (Fugue) (detail, photo Chris Moore)

Jean-Baptiste Bernardet, “Untitled (Fugue 2016)”

Sometimes a gallery presents the perfect opportunity. Last year Jean-Baptiste Bernardet exhibited “Untitled (Fugue 2016-01-12)” at Almine Rech Gallery in Brussels. Comprising 12 panels hung contiguously, “Untitled” forms a shimmering mural that exists as meditative object and theatrical backdrop and is clearly informed by Monet’s Waterlilies series (for which the French government built a pair of customized rooms in Paris’s Musée de l’Orangerie specially to display a couple of large tableaux from the series). The experience of the painting depends markedly on position (the exhibition was titled “So Far, So Close”). The gallery’s long exhibition hall is reached by descending narrow stairs. “Untitled (Fugue)” was displayed along the right-hand wall. On the wall directly opposite, the gallery built a simple bench, inviting visitors to sit quietly and contemplate the vista but also to lower their point of perspective, effectively raising the picture-plain. A different experience is had when one walks along beside the painting, whether directly or obliquely. Yet another arises when the room is full of people, the colors glimpsed between moving forms.

Jonas Burgert studio 2017 (photo Chris Moore)

Jonas Burgert studio 2017 (photo Chris Moore)

Jonas Burgert, “Zaitlaich

Just in time for Gallery Weekend in Berlin this year, Jonas Burgert finished “Zeitlach”. I visited Jonas at his studio the Saturday before it was moved to Blain Southern’s gallery (both studio and subsequently gallery were giddy with the reek of oil). Noted for weird figurative works that combine psychological and psychological imagery, Burgert had been seeking an opportunity to test his mettle. In his huge studio in Berlin, the painting hung almost from floor to ceiling with just enough space cut out for the roof beams (and filled in for the exhibition space). Themes Burgert previously played with in smaller individual paintings, in “Zeitlaich” are tipped into a Boschian battlefield. On the wall opposite the main theater of war, a number of ambiguous figures—society ghouls and jokers. They stand with visitors. But let us turn around, back to the painting. It is overwhelming because it is intimidating. Like in a Wes Craven horror film, the wry comedic figure becomes something sinister and threatening the moment it is made giant. It is a parody and the viewer is inevitably the object of the joke/attack. But scale also makes it autonomous, a wild, free beast, for it looms over us existentially, with its garish colors and grotesque force making us small and ridiculous. Do you laugh or do you run?

Jia Aili

Jia Aili “Century”, courtesy DSL Collection and CAC Malaga – 6 meters high, 15 meters long

Jia Aili, “Century”

Jia Aili was (born in 1979 in Dandong, a city in Liaoning Province. His current show at the influential CAC Malaga, comes at an important point in his career (not least because he has recently been taken on by Gagosian). “Century” (previously titled “We are from the Century”, 2008-2015, is in Panavision-Ultra-70-scale. It is a towering 6 meters high and a vast 15 meters long landscape. It was first exhibited unfinished in “Jia Aili’s Hibernation”, a solo exhibition held at DoART Beijing and organized by the Art Mia Foundation, November 14, 2008–2009. It was around this point that DSL Collection stepped in. Anyone familiar with DSL Collection knows that Dominique and Sylvain Lévy like to collect big works, so the large-scale did not deter them. Now for the first time it is being exhibited in its final state.

Jia’s works have grown and grown over recent years but “Century” may possibly be the limit. Jia adopts the scale of propaganda and cinematic billboards. The lowering skies and half-light scenes draw heavily on the aesthetics of Hollywood sci-fi films, from “Blade Runner” (1982) to “Inception” (2010). Nuclear explosions, anachronistic pilots, and a permanent state of déjà vu (interestingly Jia’s hometown is close to the North Korean border). There is a sense of rising panic, a horrific realisation of something vital lost, or doom let loose. It would not have the same effect if it were smaller, say in the scale of Goya’s series of etchings, “Disasters of War” (1810-1820), which were intended for wide distribution.

***

Goya’s prints raise the most serious question about large-scale works—for whom are vast paintings intended? The Sistine Chapel was always going to be famous and crowded. But beyond privileged corporate halls, private museums, and maybe a shopping center or two, who will see most large-scale paintings these days except perhaps an insurance company functionary reading a Freeport manifest? Like desert blooms, years might pass before they see daylight, briefly, before returning to climate-controlled hibernation. Yes this is the fate of much art these days, even in public collections, but in the age of Instagram and mobile phones, T-Rex-sized paintings are at a Jurassic disadvantage. But then again, boys always love dinosaurs.

Jonas Burgert 2017 (photo Chris Moore)

Jonas Burgert 2017 (photo Chris Moore)

Jia Aili solo exhibition
CAC Malaga Contemporary Art Center (Calle Alemania, S/N, 29001 Málaga) March 17 – June 18, 2017

Jonas Burgert “ZEITLAICH” 
Blain | Southern (Potsdamer Straße 77–87 (Mercator Höfe), 10785 Berlin) April 29 – July 29. 2017

Jean-Baptiste Bernadet “So Far, So Close”
Almine Rech Gallery (20 Rue de de l’Abbaye, Brussels) April 20 – July 30, 2016