>>
搜索 >>
EN
>>
<<
>> randian 《燃点》艺术网站  >> 关注+燃点  >>
2017.07.17 Monday, 文 /
王川流动的绘画

燃点 墨
此文章原于北京偏锋新艺术空间

空手把锄头,
步行骑水牛。
人从桥上过,
桥流水不流。

王川在他最近的一组画中引用了这首著名的偈语,扼要地点明禅宗的精髓所在,正因为那是不可能的,所以是确定的,“因为是悖理,所以我相信。“于是,“铁树开花”,“雨打不湿”,这就是禅的灵魂,已经完全拥有自己。禅道有谓:“水不能湿水,火不能烧火,剑不能斩剑。”既然画家选用了这首偈语,可以窥见:这首偈语可以帮助我们理解这组画的构思。偈语的头两句表达了人生不可以执着于事物的名相,挣脱名相和逻辑暴力,同时才是灵魂的解放。也就是不落名相,更能开显诸法实相。于是,具有了见了便做,做了便放下的胸怀。偈语的后两句,指出万物的存在就像河水一样,永远处于流动状态。世界本身无常,禅的每个机锋里总是充满活力,道出我们和世界之间的关系都在不停地瞬息万变,神秘莫测。

最近几年,王川的水墨作品潜藏能量的底蕴,这种能量气场在纸上铺陈开来,通过各种大大小小,虚与实,粗与细,干与湿的点、线以及块面演绎出千奇百怪的局部回流,而同时又很少形成主题性大面积的漩涡,正好像一条条柔缓平稳的河流。线条的疏密在空间的动与静,呈现出这种运动之中聚散、开合、穿插形成多种形态,体现了精、气、神、血、骨的气场。网状般地趋向无极飘渺。有的作品偶尔会显现出一两个似乎可辨认的形态,但一细看,形体马上又化解成无影无踪。如同在水上作画的游戏,既生既灭。在这流动不拘的创作行为中,画家赋予形式最大的自由度,任凭解读。虽然有时点、线、面的组合导向具象的形体,依稀可辨,但整个画面始终保持着抽象绘画的本色,否决任何现实表现诠释的可能性。作品2010年54号,似有小桥流水的形状,(如傅大士偈语中提到的)作品2007年53号也像是水面的漂浮的老残叶(见文本最后一段);作品2013年82号又像是纤纤玉立的小花或蘑菇,而作品2013年77号又似乎是一些千足虫。虽然如此,这些画从根本上并不是具像画。即便画中涂写的一些文字也不是一目了然的,比如作品2004年48号,看起来像是罗马拼音字母,但实际上却像藏语,同时又什么文字都不是。同样的情形在作品2004年49号中也看到,不知画家用的是什么字母语言,就是在作品2007年56号中“上上下下”。也不知画家到底指涉的是什么?

No.54, 2010, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 69 x 69 cm

No.54, 2010, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 69 x 69 cm

No.53, 2007, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 69 x 69 cm

No.53, 2007, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 69 x 69 cm

No.82, 2013, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 44 x 48 cm

No.82, 2013, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 44 x 48 cm

No.77, 2013, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 44 x 48 cm

No.77, 2013, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 44 x 48 cm

No.48, 2004, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 69 x 69 cm

No.48, 2004, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 69 x 69 cm

No.49, 2004, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 69 x 69 cm

No.49, 2004, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 69 x 69 cm

No.56, 2007, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 69 x 69 cm

No.56, 2007, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 69 x 69 cm

本文开头那首偈语作者是傅大士(生于公元497年,也称善慧大士)在他的晚年,一大群追随者慕名而来,其中也有梁武帝,傅大士并没有循守一般佛教徒修行证悟佛法的路子,他本来是一个农夫,在没有任何正规的拜师传授,仅通过自身的行为和体验,他悟到了佛法。王川也是通过自己特殊的生命经验,才对生活的意义有了新的理解,当然这人生经历并非出于刻意的选择,和傅大士一样,对觉悟后的王川来说,世界依然如旧,但他和世界的内在关系转变了。这特殊的人生经验就是1998年6月,他被验出患上胃癌晚期,死亡的阴影时刻压在头上,逼着他重新审定,反思生活的意义。2002年10月他去尼泊尔参拜了许多佛教圣地,这次旅行是他生命中重要的转折点。他终于找到了内心的平静,更令人惊奇的是在一次深刻地如梦似幻的心灵感应之后,他那被专家们诊为不可治愈的晚期胃癌,竟然烟消云散,完全痊愈了。

王川重获内心宁静,也洋溢在他的画中,它们既不给于观众强烈的感官刺激,也不去宣扬什么深刻的教理,它们飘然地独立,既不附会媚颜,也不刻意紧抓观众注意力,它们只是沉默传达一种潜在的能量与气韵。任何人在这画面前一站,就感受到它们散发的和谐、平衡与恰到好处,多一笔不行,少一笔就完全失败。他只讲非说不可的东西。能做到这点对一个艺术家来说是最难的。特别是当画家摈弃了所有的创造视觉的印象的参照手段——不追求强烈的刺激,不表现形貌,不阐述内容。他的水墨只能用两个字来形容——纯粹。

水墨绘画和王川的日常生活融为浑然一体,他每天只睡四个小时,而在很多时间静坐。当他画笔在宣纸上流动起伏时,这只不过是在他宁静状态的延伸,点画出整体生活的一个片段,在生活中,同时又超越生活之外,进入自由无限的时空。正如打坐一样,并非每次上坐都必有醍醐灌顶的快感至始至终,他的作画也并非每次下笔就等于产生了成功的作品。事实上,他的绝大部分的水墨作品都扔进了废纸篓。其原因就是画家对这些画多多少少地感到不完美,必须摈弃过往绘画的多余垃圾。

水墨作品从毛笔和宣纸为独特的媒介,当手上的微妙运作和心灵的震颤神气合一时,绘画就成为内心自我的亲密对话,这种亲密的交流是直接的,不容许任何犹豫,改变或弥补,虽然其中对笔墨等技术手段的把握的娴熟要求极高,而更难驾驭的确是作画的心态及情绪,中国的禅画大师们的表面上好像根本不着意与笔墨本身,更多地是在乎体现飘逸的,一种仙风道骨的心灵高度,但仔细一看,就会发现他的画同时也显露了惊人的笔墨技巧,在王川的许多极佳作品中,我们也可以看见这种灵与形之间亲密无间,自由交往流转。他画中的线条好像只是欢快地为自身的存在而跳跃纵横,既不是为了勾画一个具体形状的轮廓、结构,也不是为了去衬托,对应另一些线条以求画面的平衡。它们弯来转去,似乎有作为,可实际上是独来独往。如“空中飞鸟,不知空是家乡。水里的游鱼,忘却水为性命。”比如作品2013年69号,王川画了一个座右铭,但至于这山名是画的主题,还是画家的作画地点,好像却无关系,画中的线条和作品68号中的一样,只是独来独往,清空一气,横贯太空,这线条并不强悍、粗壮,但却含藏着一股柔钮的内气,串流不止。王川竭尽心力专注于这根线条的运动过程,完全置身于结构效果之外。作画如做人,活在当下这一瞬间,完完全全地投入,不要瞻前顾后,没有过去,没有未来,这种活动本身就是成就,就是圆满。

No.69, 2013, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 69 x 69 cm

No.69, 2013, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 69 x 69 cm

在“眼下一片老叶子”这篇短文中(注一)王川述说了自己在2004年10月所经历到的深刻心灵体验。在喜马拉雅山南麓波卡拉的丛林中,他走迷了路,身上爬满了蚂蝗,流血不止,疲惫不堪,他在原地盲目走动,以致瘫倒在地上,束手待毙。在这绝望的关头,他突然看见眼前费洼湖中,有一片老叶子,像一条没有方向的船,缓慢地飘过来,那么悠闲,从容自在,随风飘渺,根本对其不测不屑一顾,就在那一刹那他悟到了人生的真谛。他由此放下无谓地挣扎求生,他躁动不已的心慢慢平静下来,不可思议地,他神奇地找到了回家的路。从那天之后,他癌病也彻底烟消云散。

在文章的结尾,王川反思到,“涂画是眼皮下的错觉,还是心灵上的幻觉,姑且任之。”字词并不代表任何东西,描述的文句并非被描述之物。用得恰当贴切的文句,不过是提示线索,引人走向不死的真理。”我们可以将王川的抽象水墨看成是他个人精神旅途上的游戏场。

注一:《王川油彩作品》上海朱纪瞻美术馆 2006年
马克  猛译

>>
SEARCH >>
EN
>>
<<
>> randian 燃点 art magazine >> fan randian 燃点 on weibo >> get randian 燃点 on email >> follow randian 燃点 on twitter >> friend randian 燃点 on facebook >>
2017.07.17 Mon, by Britta Erickson
Empty-Handed, I Carry a Hoe: Wang Chuan’s Art of Non-Attachment

Ran Dian Ink
This article was originally published by PIFO Gallery

Empty-handed, I carry a hoe.
Walking on foot, I ride a water buffalo.
As I pass over a bridge,
The bridge flows but the water does not.

As part of his recent series of paintings, Wang Chuan transcribed this poem encapsulating key tenets of Buddhism (2013 No. 71). As the artist’s chosen text, we can expect it to offer insights into the paintings he created around the same time: it may be a key to understanding the series.  The poem’s first two lines convey the concept of passing through the world without becoming attached to things—making use of them when appropriate and then letting go. The second half of the poem concerns the belief that the world, like water, is in a constant state—albeit one of flux. Our relationship to the world, not the world itself, is the thing that is undergoing change.

Wang Chuan’s ink paintings of the last several years hum with a quiet energy. That energy tends to be spread evenly throughout each work, with stronger eddies here and there, sometimes punctuated by dots or color, but rarely a major concentrated vortex—just as the energy in an endlessly flowing river. There are nodes of energy where lines thicken, and the lines intersect in a web that stretches to infinity. Recognizable shapes on the verge of emerging into plain view dissolve before solidifying: in an act of non-attachment, the artist releases the form rather than holding it close. At times the works do suggest particular subjects, dramatically abstracted, but the paintings remain so far from representational that possible subjects slip away from certain identification. 2010 No. 54 resembles a bridge with water flowing underneath (as in Master Fu’s poem); 2007 No. 53 might be a leaf or skiff adrift upon a stream (see the final two paragraphs here); 2013 No. 82 looks like tiny flowers or mushrooms on long slender stalks; and 2013 No. 77 might depict many-legged creatures. Or they might just as well be entirely non-representational. Even the text is not readily interpretable: that of 2004 No. 48 suggests letters of the Roman alphabet, but it is Tibetan, as is the rather different writing on 2004 No. 49. Does the inscription shang shang xia xia 上上下下 (“above above below below”) on 2007 No. 56 simply describe the existence of two lines above and two below?

No.54, 2010, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 69 x 69 cm

No.54, 2010, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 69 x 69 cm

No.53, 2007, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 69 x 69 cm

No.53, 2007, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 69 x 69 cm

No.82, 2013, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 44 x 48 cm

No.82, 2013, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 44 x 48 cm

No.77, 2013, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 44 x 48 cm

No.77, 2013, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 44 x 48 cm

No.48, 2004, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 69 x 69 cm

No.48, 2004, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 69 x 69 cm

No.49, 2004, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 69 x 69 cm

No.49, 2004, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 69 x 69 cm

No.56, 2007, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 69 x 69 cm

No.56, 2007, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 69 x 69 cm

By the end of his life the author of the poem, Master Fu 傅大士 (b. 497; also known as Shanhui 善慧), had acquired many followers, including Emperor Wu of Liang. He did not follow the common path to Buddhist enlightenment, however. He began life as a farmer, and instead of relying on a teacher to show him the way, he became enlightened through his own actions and experiences. Wang Chuan achieved a new understanding of the meaning of life, or how one should live in the world, through a profound experience that was not at all of his choice: like Master Fu, the world did not change, but his relationship to it did. The crucial event for Wang Chuan was his 1998 diagnosis with gastric cancer, an extremely serious form of cancer if not caught early. The immanence of death and the certitude of mortality, as confirmed by diagnosis of a fatal illness, not surprisingly can catalyze a new valuation of life, and such was the case with Wang Chuan. He decided to travel to the Buddhist center of Dharamsala in Nepal, and his sojourn there from August 2002 became an important turning point in his life. He found peace. Even more remarkably, towards the end of that year, following a profound and dreamlike episode of spiritual acceptance, he learned that his supposedly incurable cancer was completely gone.

The peace Wang Chuan found within himself infuses his paintings. They don’t overwhelm the viewer, nor do they convey a pithy or amusing message. They don’t charm or seduce, or grab the viewer’s attention. Instead they stand as a reflection of the constant flow of energy through the world around us, as channeled through Wang Chuan. Contemplating one of his paintings we can sense this, and sense that the painting is exactly right, exactly as it should be with nothing to add or subtract. To paint thus is ever a most challenging feat for an artist, particularly when the artist eschews all visual distractions in his art, as mentioned above—no message, no overwhelming power, no recognizable image, and so on.

The act of painting with ink on paper is part of the flow of Wang Chuan’s life. He sleeps only four or five hours per day, but devotes an extended period to meditation. When he brushes ink across xuan paper, it is an action of his quiet mind, and a mark signifying the passage of time in his life, a life extending beyond what had once been the expected limit. Just as not every episode of meditation is profound and deep from beginning to end, so too is not every episode of painting. Wang Chuan consigns many paintings to the waste pile because they are in some way lacking—not fully expressive of his best self.

Ink painting with brush on paper is an intimate expression of the self, as the hand wielding the brush acts in accordance with the mind. There is no going back: no changes can be made, no faults erased. The great Chinese ink painters had mastered the brush, but the painter’s mental state was at least as important as superb technique. China’s Chan Buddhist painters deployed ink with seeming abandon yet achieved incomparable results, ascribable to their elevated and totally free states of mind. When Wang Chuan’s paintings are at their best, it is because of his peaceful and open mind, his equanimity regarding life. His lines exist for the joy of the process: they don’t necessarily have an obvious external goal such as to describe a structure, or balance another line, or close off a particular form. They may seem to meander but they exist simply as part of life. In a work like 2013 No. 68 the lines feel like music stretching across the void. Wang Chuan inscribed 2013 No. 69 with the name of a mountain but it is not clear whether that is both the subject and the location of the artist when he painted it, but the lines have the same feel as those in 2013 No. 68, as strands of energy traversing the universe. They are not overtly strong, but there is an inner strength that carries them along wherever it is they are going. Wang Chuan seems to paint for the sake of the painting process, not for the end goal of a finished work of art. In art as in life, to be in the moment, fully participating in the process rather than gazing ahead toward a goal, is the way to fulfillment.

No.69, 2013, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 69 x 69 cm

No.69, 2013, Ink on paper 纸本水墨, 69 x 69 cm

In a short statement titled “An Old Leaf in Front of My Eye” (眼下的一片老叶子 Yanxia de Yi Pian Lao Yezi, 2006),[i] Wang Chuan describes the profound spiritual experience he underwent in October 2002. Having wandered for hours lost in the dense and humid forests of Pohkara, exhausted and covered in leeches, he finally sat down and surrendered to the situation. The sight of an old leaf fallen slowly through his field of vision, “like a boat directed only by the current and wind, its destination beyond understanding,” moved him deeply. It is then that he gave up the futile struggle against fate and achieved equanimity. He believes that at this moment his cancer was eradicated.

Wang Chuan closes his statement with the rumination, “Painting is an illusion of the eyes or of the mind. . . . Words do not represent any thing. . . . Sentences are only an introduction to the eternal truth. ” We can view his abstract ink paintings as introductory spaces for personal spiritual pondering.


[i] Wang Chuan 王川, Wang Chuan Youcai Zuopin 王川油彩作品 (Wang Chuan’s Oil Paintings) (Shanghai: Zhu Qizhan Art Museum, 2006).