>>
搜索 >>
EN
>>
<<
>> randian 《燃点》艺术网站  >> 关注+燃点  >>
2018.07.09 Monday, 文 / 张志楷 译 / 房小然
傀儡师的长鼻子
乔丹·沃尔夫森于泰特现代艺术馆

在泰特现代艺术馆地下油罐空间举办的年轻赞助人夏季派对上,我见到堪称最近看过的最棒的艺术作品之一。人已中年,又不是掏钱的赞助人,多亏派对的邀请名单足够慷慨我才得以溜进来。当年轻富裕的新文化阶级精英啜饮着手中冒泡的香槟酒时,我则迫不及待想直奔乔丹·沃尔夫森那件拴着铁链的匹诺曹,双眼闪闪发亮的木偶回瞪着观者,散发着蔑视反抗和精神病态的奇幻气息。木偶的身体随铁链剧烈拉扯散落,控制木偶的铁链叮当作响似乎在模仿派对中玻璃酒杯的叮当声。白色地板由于巨大金属链条的抽打,已印迹斑斑,留下优美抽象,油乎乎的印痕,这让木偶时而悬浮在空中,时而瘫倒在地上的躯体所演绎的芭蕾看上去如此触目惊心。

我觉得这像詹姆斯·格雷厄姆·巴拉德的小说或库布里克电影中的一幕:傍晚狂欢的精英,通过纯金脐带与泰特现代艺术馆相连,一边是美味香槟的洗礼,一边是饱受折磨的巨大木偶,戴着锁链跳舞,无休止地扮演跌落的天使和受诅咒的凤凰,但不知为何却透着黑色幽默和令人心生恻隐之心。在无休无眠表演的重压之下,木偶嘎吱嘎吱作响。一开始我不确定这声音是否是作品的一部分,在泰特现代艺术馆的安保人员引领我们离开这场屠杀……和匹诺曹的时候,我几乎希望木偶真的咔嚓一声碎成两半,一劳永逸地停止这场表演,以这种安排让观者的心理得到一些宣泄与安慰。

我喜欢将匹诺曹与傀儡师融为一体的构思。到底谁是说谎者?木偶?傀儡师?两者都是?还是我们?谎言的本质是什么?年轻的派对?行为表演/艺术的表现手法?我可以继续不停地问下去,并参考《银翼杀手2049》——比人类更像人类的复制人/机器人/人造人——提出与人类生存有关的各种问题,是什么创造了拥有灵魂,作为人类的我们和希望人造人成为人类的欲望从何而来?区别这一切的关键是什么?这些是各时代都在思考的重要问题,也是直指人类真面目和本质的核心。

不管怎样,我说得有点太远了……我得离开去工作室了!

乔丹·沃尔夫森(1980年生)现生活和工作于洛杉矶和纽约。“彩色的雕塑”展览正在伦敦泰特现代美术馆展出,展览截止到2018年8月26日。

https://www.tate.org.uk/visit/tate-modern/display/tanks/jordan-wolfson

本文作者张志楷是一名伦敦艺术家,其作品正于伦敦都爹利会馆举办的群展“Doubting Thomas”中展出,策展人为郭瑛,该展览将持续到2018年9月26日。今年9月,张志楷还将在香港锦艺舫(Galerie Huit)举办个展。

>>
SEARCH >>
EN
>>
<<
2018.07.09 Mon, by Gordon Cheung Translated by: 房小然
The Long nose of the Puppet Master
Jordan Wolfson at Tate Modern

One of the best works of art I have seen recently was at the Tanks Tate Modern during the Young Patron’s Summer party. Middle aged and not a paying patron, I slipped in via a generous invitation list. While the new culture classes of young rich elite sipped their bubbly champagne, I was keen to head straight to Jordan Wolfson’s chained Pinocchio with luminous eyes gazing back in a projected fantasy of defiance and psychopathy. Its body strewn and yanked to the loud clinks of puppet chains seemed to mimic the clinking glasses in the party. The huge metal chains lashed beautiful oily abstract marks on a white floor, violently exaggerating a ballet of the body levitating and crumpling.

Somehow eliciting dark humour and empathy against what I imagine to be a surreal ritual from a JG Ballard novel or a Kubrickian film scene where the elite enjoy an evening with gold umbilical cords attached to Tate Modern baptised with delicious champagne while a gigantic tortured puppet dances in chains, perpetually a falling angel and cursed Phoenix. Under the stress of an endless performance it climatically snapped! Uncertain at first whether this was part of the work and almost wishing it was a choreographed cathartic relief it really was broken in half, a profound sign to retire as the Tate security ushered me away from the carnage….and Pinocchio.

I like the merging of Pinnochio and the Puppet master; who is the liar? Puppet? Master? Both? Us?

What is the nature of the lie? –The young party? –The conceit of the performance/art? I could keep going and refer to Bladerunner 2049 – replicants/androids/artificial humans who are more human than humans – the existential questions of what makes us who we are as human beings with souls; the desire for an artificial human to be a human. But what is the essence that defines that? These are important questions throughout the ages, that point to the universal core of who and what we are.

Anyway too much rambling…….I’m off to the studio!

Jordon Wolfson (b.1980) lives and works in Los Angeles and New York. ”Colored Sculpture” is showing at Tate Modern, London until August 26, 2018

https://www.tate.org.uk/visit/tate-modern/display/tanks/jordan-wolfson

Gordon Cheung is an artist based in London. He is currently showing in ’Doubting Thomas’ at Duddell’s London, Curated by Ying Kwok, until 24 Sept 2018. Gordon will have a solo show at Galerie Huit, Hong Kong in November.