>>
搜索 >>
EN
>>
<<
>> randian 《燃点》艺术网站  >> 关注+燃点  >>

专题搜索

分类
 
日期
  从:
  至:
  日期格式: 1/30/2012
关键字
 
  >> 专题搜索
>> 确认订阅
2020.10.11 Sunday, 文 /
“权利:就是写________”:
亦步亦趋中的民之书法

本文英文版最初发表于《Flash Art》杂志,2019年6月24日。

文/李圭

翻译:黄静远梁舒涵

 

如果说“写”是激活酣睡文献的按钮,那么“展”是否可以是文献梦游之时的排练场?

—黄静远,《遍插茱萸少一人》现场介绍文本

 

往上海当代艺术博物馆三层左侧角落里钻,是弗朗西斯•埃利斯(Francis Alÿs)的影像作品《排演1》(Rehearsal I ,1999-2001)。一辆甲壳虫汽车正一次次的开足马力想冲上山顶,在这种西绪福斯似的努力中屡战屡败屡败屡战。在另一边,吴其育的影像作品《阅读清单》(Reading List ,2017)叙述着跨国资本主义的七寸如何在痉挛中调节自己。夹在这两件在现代、后现代或超现代里“循环”的影像作品中的是另一个“第三世界”:黄静远的《遍插茱萸少一人》(Right to Write ,2018)的项目现场。这是一个书法室,一个共同书写的地方;里面散落着各种形态的书写材料和涂鸦手笔,还有她的三幅油画。整个空间布置得像施工现场,承载着极富表现力的笔迹的各种表面被看似随意地“嫁接”到空间里的不同角落里。泡沫包装材料、半透明的PC板、高垂而下的绿色布帘、巨大的油画布面……它们时而是隔断,时而是引子,围出了一个半封闭地盘。就是这样的一个衣衫褴褛的文献实体,它的封闭与通达构成一个突破文本重围的隧道,让我们在某种形成中的世界(的某种三流的出口?)中徘徊。

image001
黄静远,《遍插茱萸少一人》 装置现场全貌,“禹步——第12届上海双年展”,上海当代艺术博物馆,2018。图片由上海当代艺术博物馆提供。

缘何?

我走进,漫步于这个昏暗的,共创棚屋。这是一种内在的大地(χώρα):一种在城邦(polis)之外的领土,但是同时作为一种不可见的腹地根植其中——正在容纳屋子的屋子。就像爱莲•西苏(Hélène Cixous)(《写作梯子上的三个步阶》的作者)可能会说的那样,这是一个“写作梯子上的五个步阶”(“Five” Steps on the Ladder of Writing)。现场被分割和布置成五部分:(1)入口是胡同般的走廊,到(2)如舞台中央般的半开放客厅,到(3)一个后台:里面有三个的文件成列柜和椅子,轻声告诉你,“这是文献之所”,到(4)一个又长又窄的像山洞一样的卧室,其中有五本书放在一个小塑料桌子上,与分散着的十九个气球热闹地挤在一起。远远望卧室的尽头还有两个枕头。而这些床上用品的轮廓正好从(5)接待处可以看到。而这也正连着前面提到的入口,是通往吴其育影像黑屋的唯一通道。

1
《遍插茱萸少一人》参与者和装置模型,“禹步——第12届上海双年展”,上海当代艺术博物馆,2018。供图/摄影:黄静远。

这个引发梦游的端头,可以被端详,又充满端倪,像一个藏书标签。而梦作为书的一部分,从书中掉落:漏掉走的一笔一划,让文字成为另外的文字——把工作不断的向外繁衍。黄静远在现场可以拿走的介绍文本里写道:这个项目观照社会里存在的不同形式的隔阂,通过对参与和参与过程的呈现让它们在展厅里具有了某种(平时不具备的)同时性。我希望在这个叙事里,那些被隔离或者抹杀的世界由此可以互见(不,互见并不意味就可以互相解释,甚至互相拯救)。我是希望让观众通过现场去体会:普通的中国人,在剧变的风浪和无处不在的不公面前都经历了一些什么;在此之中,他们如何表达?从每个个案、每个世界想象中,我们可以看到一个怎样的当下?重拾过去、面对眼前,我们应该如何成为自己、成为社会?
image003
《遍插茱萸少一人》 的入口处,“禹步——第12届上海双年展”,上海当代艺术博物馆,2018。摄影:李圭。

这个民主化的、拥挤、喧嚷、众音缭绕的布局坚守着环形语法,配合着这个记录性的项目对多语多声的渴求。它秉承实话实说的信念:因为这是由话语意识带来的现实主义以及其物质性的直接要求。现在我们走入它,这个进和出同时发生的空间,这个给那些颠沛流离的灵魂以临时庇所的茧壳,去想象,它可以就是在短短几天时间内建成——而且它确实是的。文字世界和世界间歇性的杂生与共,当庭记录以及物质证据的“正在”和“成为”(黄静远言):这些“无法展”正好“展”出了中国社会之等级和生存之不易。
image004
《遍插茱萸少一人》 入口通道(右:马永进部分;左:跳水台部分),“禹步——第12届上海双年展”,上海当代艺术博物馆,2018。供图:上海当代艺术博物馆。摄影:蒋文毅。

乱七八糟,乱七八糟地精确组合;文字世界,文字世界的世界组合:这个“民的书写的乌托邦”不仅随地“吐字”,还随地吐很多其他的东西:有中文、英文、德文,有口号、陈词滥调、讽刺,还有各种各样的家居用品:自习灯/床灯、棉絮被褥、泡沫塑料、塑料袋薄膜等。

卧室的墙壁上有一些小纸片。在其中一张印有清华大学抬头的信笺上,一位不(或不太)受到认可的民工书法家留下他优雅的字迹——字迹的质量是受教育程度的风向标。 他是被邀请的十五个人中的一位。信头一般来说没有特别的意义,除非写信人对此有特殊的寄托。清华,这个有着重要社会意义的地点,中国最高学府,在这里变成了草稿纸,薄薄的一个意义面。 使这张不起眼的便签在这里意义重重的,是它后面映射的两个完全不同的价值标准,两套不同的的政治心理意识:一个俨然是实用性判断,另一个则是高度象征性的解释。信笺上的空行让人向往的书写练习,把在公共财产(哪怕仅仅是复制品)上玩耍的小小的、私人的乐趣常规化。这样的行为是微不足道的,或者,它真的应该是微不足道么?位置的转变,无论有多么微小,看上去是会影响到评估体系的转变。这个破旧的梦境像一口有家居特色的棺材;透明的顶棚正好给这位书写人那些内心细微的演化以容身之地。写写画画中,一个属于他自己的房间。
11
《遍插茱萸少一人》现场(徐良园部分),“禹步——第12届上海双年展”,上海当代艺术博物馆,2018。摄影:李圭。

其复如何?

回想起来,最初吸引我的,是本届上海双年展的理念:“proregress”。这个不断串门的如同头抓一样的词来自诗人、画家、剧作家——卡明斯(E.E.Cummings):结合了“前进”(progress)和“后退”(regress)之义,是一个标新立异的单词创造。进步主义的意识形态迫使人“自发”感到需要区分退步、超级进步,需要无时无刻跟进——而这个词正好要反对这些。在双年展上,策展团队巧妙地将这个英语词其与古老的道禹步教仪式中神秘舞步——“禹步”联系起来(禹步在中文里指一种“进一步、退两步”的双向交叉步伐)。于是,在这一张一弛的收缩之间,“禹步”抓住了这个错综复杂的时代的命门,彰显现代/后现代混杂的当代性和天真感。正如双年展的主策展人夸特莫克•梅迪纳(Cuauhtémoc Medina)所言,这个概念“它正好出自于这种时刻在我们时代里的意义”, 所有的难题和纠缠,似乎都需要时间自身去承受,把每个现在都好像当成是永恒的一样。
image006
《遍插茱萸少一人》 地面,“禹步——第12届上海双年展”,上海当代艺术博物馆,2018。摄影:黄静远。

黄静远的《遍插茱萸少一人》就是这样一件“禹步”中的力作:它令人眼前一亮,指向明确,在过程中散发能量的。这是一个关于“为什么不呢?”的作品:汇集想象力,铺开多声道。它为文献未来可能有的尊严而造,而且这种尊严不是靠和谐“小民”的生命轨迹为代价的。她通过释放或者重置收集到的表达(有些带有抒情色彩,有些处于孵化状态),把这些来自自动民族志或者自动纪实式的作品里的各种细微的意向、象征和姿态编排成新的舞蹈。这样的社会参与式艺术的确是在过程中见真身,因为“作品”就是在这个沟通网络的每一步里,都是通过对话来实施。艺术家在这里不是一个价值权威也不是赋予作者性的源泉,而更像是一个接生婆。 《遍插茱萸少一人》的英文名字是《写的权利》(Right to Write),我们也可以说它是关于“阅读的权利”的。正是在这样的反单方规则先行的,共同建造书写规则的实验里,它成为一个特定的装置,一个实地性作品。这种“道行式”(pregressive),是一种一起走(一起前行、转行、前后替行)。

8
《遍插茱萸少一人》现场(陈建和部分),“禹步——第12届上海双年展”,上海当代艺术博物馆,2018。供图/摄影:黄静远。

是什么条件使前进和后退——矛盾的同在呢?这种康德式的探索也许可以在道家亦进亦退的精神中得到新生,即奋力“道/先行”。这里,我把道家的“道”认为是 “道行之而成”里的“道”,而不是简单的“已经做”。 我们可以在《庄子•齐物论》找到这样的平等思想。“万物齐一”的道家哲学著作中的语句。“道行/先行”,即道士的修行,是一种随心而变的步法与节奏,一种自身形式的即兴表演,这并不是说“修道之人”是“前卫的”的步行者或移动者,因为她 “要前行”的是不字。毋宁说,她大抵是在禹步,携邻者徘徊,伴行或独行,应需而动,跨越藩篱,广结诸方。简而言之,道行指共计的时机与步距,体现在“道”的活动中,即包括作法礼仪中的阵法和流程。

为何如此?

我感兴趣的是对社会性艺术的生态回声空间模式进行重新标记,并用一组更具在地性的中国式习语阐明这种模式。我关注到黄静远这件——跨语际和社会的——“梦境”中的动态氛围,这与她的团队合作以及她自己的作品密不可分,因为在那里我看到了实践中的道行水平如何也能反映和加强了其形成的生物能,即“气”,而不是只是它的形态;这样,构形的过程和结果就会变为互生关系。

可能这也是道家天人感应的思想作为一种证明(或反证)的方式所起的作用。且看批判的干预是如何遍及其中,并与感知所抗衡的步伐相一致的:观察这复杂但稳定的摇摆,期间步伐的调整,迅速而安静,潜在的或实际的,字面的或隐喻的,步伐中现象和物质的存在,无论多么微小或被抑制,也有其无可避免的混乱。如果不单是织网本身,那究竟是什么促成了这种“爵士乐”(爵士乐讲究即兴,且具有摇摆特点,和禹步相似——译者)?通过社会协同艺术实践,黄静远的无产阶级书法学,在结构上是偶然的、临时产生的产物,它呈现了一个亲笔书写的,没有打草稿或是任何解释的“X”,同时以自动回溯和改写的方式禹步更新了每一个“X”。

6
《遍插茱萸少一人》现场(宋成宝部分),“禹步——第12届上海双年展”,上海当代艺术博物馆,2018。摄影:李圭。

参与其中的是一个不断的被动主动的来回扫视,亦是艺术家的主动凝视,被形象的转喻为一对油画作品。一幅以画的背面示人,她的正面形成通向书房的回廊,画的是一个紧闭双唇、看起来固执的小女孩(《在水一方01》,2016);另一幅正对“客厅”前的空地:画的是中年妇女,看上去像是一个厌世的“中国当代雅典娜”(《在水一方03》,2018)。就如黄静远在现场介绍文字里写的, “如果文字是酣睡的档案之源,我想是否展览或许就是供短暂梦游的排演厅”。就在那,那个女孩就转身看着你。而那个作祟的人可能就是你自己;或是任何一个人,在过去或者在未来。就像那个随着某个团来参观并且在现场休息了一会的女士,可能是任何人,可能发生在任何一个地方。

7
《遍插茱萸少一人》现场(黄静远油画《在水一方03》),“禹步——第12届上海双年展”,上海当代艺术博物馆,2018。摄影:黄静远。

更加使人五味杂陈的是第三幅画,它的悬挂的位置和第一幅构成了一个斜角。画的是一位(可能怀孕的)女孩和一个男孩互相拉手的瞬间(《在水一方02》,2017)。这里三个女性形象图样上循环着、画布相依着,从象征意义上暗示着一个原始文本:一个好像一开始的时候就被预先编码,破碎不堪的原始文本(从某种程度上类似一个打造中的当代中国)。通过激进的陈列“我没有破碎”,如同放出一系列的喊话那样(哪怕最后被变得渺小和次要),黄静远的档案室,伴随着同样激进的“艺术家主体声音”退场,勾勒出那个自治的折中的自由的“我们”。这种相互主体性其实我们可以在艾米莉•狄金森(Emily Dickinson)或瓦尔特•本雅明等更具精英和个人主义的“其他西方人”身上找到一些端倪。他们也都聚焦被记录的人生里包含的“破碎本体”,只是那么“茱萸”项目的那么强烈。

我在想,那些彼岸的写作者,他们如果可以看到这样的“其他”书写的话,他们可能可以看到什么?

image011
《遍插茱萸少一人》现场,“禹步——第12届上海双年展”,上海当代艺术博物馆,2018。摄影:李圭。

那些粗粝的、无声却不能被简化的图文写画如一个个身体那样驻扎着,这里那里,大的小的,细节的铺陈的,这种以道行的方式激化着视觉和语觉。这些图景以道行的方式(pregressively)进一步模糊了视觉和“文字”的界限,近乎于汉字的视觉音乐剧。写作的权利,是关于去单语性和重新日常化写作的规范和实践,甚至是写作的圈子的权利。而整个作品,这个看似平面化但是远不如此的平台,是通过一系列开放的,对集合性的审美民主化的不断衍生来实现的“写作的权利”——这里的特殊之处还在于它的“民”的同步化是针对“中国特色”的,也是针对“中国字符”的(Chinese characteristics)。

过度控制的社会经济图景和造梦涡轮中,这可能是在当今中国撕开并且赋权其他社会之路(包括社会主义,甚至是后社会主义)的一种方式:由里向外的,或者反之。当然民之书法的乌托邦之路依然仅存于建设性的猜想,但是不管如何它给了我们一种念想。离开展馆之前,正好看见了安德烈•弗雷泽(Andrea Fraser)的作品——《2016:博物馆、金钱与政治》(Museums, Money and Politics ,2018)。关于美国的数据图表拿到今天的中国来展,是另一种“言说”的可视化。是的,“权利:就是写_____”,这样留白不失为一个有意思的提议:特别是与别人一起写的时候,特别是在曾经是国有发电站(power station)的一角里“自己的房间”写的时候。对,就是那个多义词:电力、权力、能力。

10
《遍插茱萸少一人》现场(徐世达部分),“禹步——第12届上海双年展”,上海当代艺术博物馆,2018。摄影:黄静远。

李圭,国际艺术评论家协会美国分会(AICA-USA)会员,纽约市立大学哲学、性别研究、司法研究教授,著有《解读笛卡尔的他法》(Reading Descartes Otherwise)和《写出混乱的英语》(Writing Entanglish),也是一位涉猎哲学、艺术、文化、文学批评等跨界作家。曾在剑桥大学、纽约市立大学研究生院、韩国高等研究院(KIAS)、梅隆基金会、美国人文基金会、首尔大学、延边大学等机构从事研究、讲学。她极具诗意的哲学文章见于:《国际艺术评论家协会美国分会杂志》《亚洲美国文学评论》《布鲁克林铁路报》《Flash Art》《PN Review》《燃点》《The Volta》《白色评论》以及大量学术期刊和文集。她即将付梓的文集“Queenzenglish.mp3: poetry | philosophy | performativity”得到了梅隆基金会的支持,收录了全球五十余位诗人、音乐人、理论家和行为艺术家的文字。她是《哲学:跨大陆女权主义杂志》(philoSOPHIA: A Journal of transContinental Feminism)的联合编辑,同时为《亚洲妇女研究》《Bloomsbury Studies in Critical Poetics》《Open Humanities Press》《Simon de Beauvoir Studies》和《女性研究季刊》等杂志的编委会成员。李圭教授通过其在地性的意识学实践,探索了批评理论和包括“艺术写作”在内的创造性散文之间的共生联系。

>>
SEARCH >>
EN
>>
<<

FILTER FEATURES

SECTION
 
DATE
  FROM:
  TO:
  EX: 1/30/2012
KEYWORD
 
  >> Search features
>> Confirm subscribe
2020.10.11 Sun, by
“Right: to Write ________”:
Toward a Democalligraphic U-topia

First published in Flash Art, 24 June 2019

By Kyoo Lee

Chinese Translation by Huang Jingyuan and Liang Shuhan
 

If writing is the mother of the comatose archive,
I wonder if exhibiting could be the rehearsal hall for a brief spell of somnambulation.

— Huang Jing Yuan, Right to Write

 

Tucked away in the left corner of the third floor of the Power Station of Art in Shanghai, between Francis Alÿs’s video Rehearsal I (1999–2001), in which a Volkswagen Beetle continues its Sisyphean exercise of ascending and descending a hill, and Wu Chi-Yu’s video Reading List (2017), in which the underbelly of transnational capitalism incisively rescales itself, is another “third world,” Huang Jing Yuan’s own hybrid gallery, Right to Write (2018). Her writing room, a co-writing space with three of her own paintings interspersed with calligraphic pieces by others, some close to calligraffitis, is situated between those two videographic loops of the modern, post or hyper. Set up like a construction site under construction, Huang’s work is — or inserts itself like — a ruggedly analog, analogically layered contrarian zone in between, where expressively inscribed surfaces are grafted, seemingly randomly, onto the inner dividers of the space such as PET sheets, semitransparent PC sheets, tall green curtains, long canvases, etc., turning the whole room into a half-closed exit, a passage out of the textual site into another sort, sortie, of third-worlding.

image001
Huang Jing Yuan, “The Right to Write”, Installation view at “the 12th Shanghai Biennale: Proregress”, Power Station of Art, 2018. Courtesy of the Power Station of Art.

How so?

So I am walking in, wandering through this dimly lit, shack-like choral site, a sort of khôrā (χώρα), the territory outside the polis also rooted in it as an invisible receptacle, a housing house. The site is sliced and staged in five “steps on the ladder of writing,” as Hélène Cixous might say: (1) an alley-like corridor at the entrance to (2) a center-stage-like living room semi-open to (3) a backstage-like backroom that, with a set of three display cabinets and chairs, whispers “this is an archive” to (4) a cave-like bedroom long and narrow, where five books on a small plastic table party with nineteen balloons crowded around the corners, all invited by two pillows at the end of the room, a silhouette of which is visible from (5) the reception, also an exit from/to Wu’s darkroom, the only access point.

1
“The Right to Write”, participants and floor plan, “the 12th Shanghai Biennale: Proregress”, Power Station of Art, 2018. Photography by Huang Jingyuan. Courtesy of the artist.

So this port of dreaming is portable and porous, an ex libris, where the dreamwork, part of the book, also departs from itself, with the x of ex, its own outwork. In an exhibition leaflet, Huang writes:

The project tries to synchronize different kinds of isolation, to create a narrative for segregated worlds to mirror each other (no, they don’t explain each other, nor can they save each other). It invites viewers to ask: What is the ordinary Chinese person’s experience and expression as they negotiate the vortex of changes and ubiquitous inequality? What do these instances of picturing the world say about the time we are in? How may we empower ourselves when faced with the past and the reality in front of us, and the world yet to come?

image003
“The Right to Write”, entrance, “the 12th Shanghai Biennale: Proregress”, Power Station of Art, 2018. Photography by Kyoo Lee.

The layout that literalizes this democratic, cramming, clamoring, and choral spacing stays circular, which renders this documentary project multilayered as well as multilingual, and its discursive realism materially imperative: it is what it is. What you are entering and exiting into at once is a transient cocoon for the dispossessed in transit that can be — and was — constructed in just a couple of days. An interstitial crossbreeding of the words and the worlds across the board, a concurrent sighting-citing of the contingent “coming-together” (Huang’s words) on-site of what matters materially: that is what is happening in this counter-show of the sociopolitical hierarchy and intricacy of existence in China.

image004
“The Right to Write”, entryway (right: Ma Yongjin part; Left: TST part), “the 12th Shanghai Biennale: Proregress”, Power Station of Art, 2018. Photography by Jiang Wenyi. Courtesy of the Power Station of Art.

Held here is an unmanicured display of the messy, messily precise assemblage of wor(l)ds. This democalligraphic utopia is littered with not only letters — a kinetographic mix of Chinese, English, German, slogans, clichés, quips, among others — but an eclectic array of homey materials such as florescent lamps, blankets, foam padding, and vinyl sacks.

There are scraps on the bedroom wall, including a sheet from a college-ruled notebook bearing the logo of Beijing’s Tsinghua University over which an un(der)recognized migrant worker-calligrapher, one of the fifteen invited, has written his lines quite elegantly — a sign of education. The letterhead signifies something for the letter-writer otherwise insignificant; see how such a socially significant space, Tsinghua, one of the highest seats of learning in China, was used as an interface, as a practice paper. What makes this otherwise ordinary note noteworthy is the psychopolitical incongruity between the two different use values held by that inscriptive surface, one utterly functional and the other overly symbolic. Those blank lines inviting aspirational inscriptive practices routinize the small, private pleasure of playing on a (reproduced) public property, which would also be inconsequential — or is it? Such a transposition does seem to effect transvaluation, however micro. In this shabby dreamscape, like a roomy coffin, the glass ceiling could also shelter the nanotransgression of a writer enjoying his own calligraphic (with)drawing, a room of his own.

11
“The Right to Write”, Installation view (Xu Liangyuan part), “the 12th Shanghai Biennale: Proregress”, Power Station of Art, 2018. Photography by Kyoo Lee.

So what?

Looking back, what initially attracted me was this concept behind the current edition of the Shanghai Biennale: “proregress,” a curious head-scratcher from poet-painter-playwright E. E. Cummings, whose works countered the ideology of progress, the discourse against which one is supposed to feel under- or over-developed or still developing. At the Biennale, the curatorial team has brilliantly recontextualized proregress as the correlate to a mystical dance step, 禹步 (yubu), in the ancient Daoist ritual: a twisted bi-directional movement composed of stepping forward once and backward twice. In its contraction, proregress holds together the scrambled eggy steps of choreographic time across this chiastic zone of modern/postmodern/spatiotemporal contemporaneity and simplexity, “actually absorbing,” as the biennial’s chief curator Cuauhtémoc Medina aptly puts it, “the weight of this moment in time,” all the complications and entanglements that time itself seems to endure now and nowadays as if forever.

image006
“The Right to Write”, floor, “the 12th Shanghai Biennale: Proregress”, Power Station of Art, 2018. Photography by Huang Jingyuan. Courtesy of the artist.

Huang’s Right to Write is, again, an illuminating case in point, a vibrant work in proregress. An imaginatively populated and democratically polyvocalized why-not, this choral space for an archival future honors without trying to harmonize the life experiences of the xiaorenmin (xiao small, renmin people as in People’s Republic of China). She choreographs their microsignatory gestures by unleashing and rechanneling their expressive, and at times lyrical, potentials — through and toward the collaborative platforming of their auto-ethnographic or auto-documentary work. This mode of socially participatory art is literally process-oriented since the work in network, at every step, materializes through co-creative dialogues; the artist is there not to validate or authorize but as a sort of midwife. As a series of counter-proscriptive and co-scriptive experimentations in open-ended collaborations, Right to Write (or to read) becomes a site-specific, descriptively proregressive exploration and analog data-visualization of a polycentric democalligraphic utopia — pregressive, even (walking along as if ahead/around/back and forth).

8
“The Right to Write”, Installation view (Chen Jianhe part), “the 12th Shanghai Biennale: Proregress”, Power Station of Art, 2018. Photography by Huang Jingyuan. Courtesy of the artist.

What is the condition that makes progressive and regressive moment, itself so ambivalently (with)held, possible? Such a Kantian quest could be recast in the spirit of daoist proregressivity too: pushing for “pregressing,” I’m transporting this idea that dao (way/route 道) is “in the making” (道行之而成), not simply made, as in the second chapter of the Zhuangzi (莊子), which showcases the egalitarianism of Daoist philopoetics. Pregress (道行), a Daoist practice of “following” Dao, is an instantaneous auto-spacing and pacing, an improvisational performance per form (of its own), which is not to say that the pregressor is an “avant-garde” walker or mover, for she “advances” not. Rather, yubu-ing more or less, she lingers with her neighbors and moves with or without them, as necessary, while passing through various walls, connecting the dots here and there. In short, pregress points to choral timing and spacing itself — or herself — embodied in its vehicular dao, namely, passages and processes including protocols in motion.

So why bother?

I am interested in further resemiologizing the eco-echo-spacing mode of socially engaged art and articulating such in a more site-specific, sinographic set of idioms. I focus on the dynamic ambience of Huang’s translingual and social dreamwork, inseparable from her teamwork as well as her own artwork, because there I see how the pregressive level of its praxis also mirrors and reinforces its formative bioenergetics (qi 气/気), not just its morphology; this way, the framing and the framed become reciprocally generative.

Perhaps this is how a Daoist sensorship works as a mode of (counter-)demonstration too. See how a critical intervention happens through and concurs with a counterbalancing perceptual move: observe the convoluted yet stabilized shaking, the shake-up in the middle of it, swift and quiet, potential or actual, literal or metaphoric, the phenomenological and material presence of the other move, its necessary messiness, however mini or contained. What prompts all that jazz, this network of collaboration, if not the work of netting and knitting per se? Huang’s structurally contingent, makeshift production of proletariat calligrammatology through socially synergetic artistic practices presents a matrixially autographic “X” without presetting or representing “it” (X) while proregressively renewing each one in the form of auto-archival backtracking and recasting.

6
“The Right to Write”, Installation view (Song Chengbao part), “the 12th Shanghai Biennale: Proregress”, Power Station of Art, 2018. Photography by Kyoo Lee.

Involved here is a constant passive-active glancing back and forth, the active gaze of the artist, also visually metonymized in the two (pair-able) paintings of a tight-lipped, stubborn-looking little girl at the back leading to the reading room of the house (Next to the water 01, 2016) and a middle-aged woman in front framing the living room, who looks like a world-weary Chinese Athena today (Next to the water 03, 2018). “If writing is the mother of the comatose archive,” as the artist writes, “exhibiting could be the rehearsal hall for a brief spell of somnambulation,” where that girl turning around to look at you, that haunting one, could be you, any one of, in the past or future, just as that lady resting there for a while in the middle of some group tour could be anywhere, anyone.

7
“The Right to Write”, Installation view (Oil painting “Next to the water 03” by Huang Jingyuan), “the 12th Shanghai Biennale: Proregress”, Power Station of Art, 2018. Photography by Huang Jingyuan. Courtesy of the artist.

Further telling is the position of those two paintings triangulated by one in between, an image of a (pregnant?) girl and a boy holding each other (Next to the water 02, 2017). The pregressive circularity of and bordered connections among three female figures, only visually signified here, functions like an ur-text (of contemporary China in the making?) that seems already fragmented as if pre-indexed. By proactively staging counterfragmentations as a series of shout-outs, however small or seemingly secondary, Huang’s anarchive, along with the pregressive vacating of its own vocal subjectivity, effects the autocuration of an eclectically free “we”, the sort of intersubject not as strongly present in more elitist and individualistic “other Western” figures such as Emily Dickinson or Walter Benjamin, those also focused on the fragment(ed)o(nto)logy of documented lives.

What would those writers from other shores have seen in this “other” writing?

image011
“The Right to Write”, Installation view, “the 12th Shanghai Biennale: Proregress”, Power Station of Art, 2018. Photography by Kyoo Lee.

The rustic, quietly irreducible residency of the graphic bodies dynamically distributed and detailed in small pieces of papers and big pictures held together in their chrono-diverse proregressivity, pregressively intensifies the very blurry overlap between the visual and the “verbal” which, in the case of Chinese characters, is close to visuo-musical. Right to Write as a right to play de-monolingualizes and re-quotidianizes the very norms, practices, and scenes of writing, and the artwork itself, the platform that looks but is not flat, unfolds through a serially inclusive, transformatively collective aesthetic democratization, especially an asynchronic reminification with other “Chinese characteristics,” of a Right to Write.

This could perhaps be one way to split open and empower alternative social (including socialist or is it now post-socialist?) tracks within China today, in and outside her hyper-controlled politico-economic landscapes and turbo dreams. This idea of a democalligraphic u-topia remains highly speculative and yet it is at least an idea. On my way out of the Shanghai Biennale, right past Museums, Money and Politics (2018), Andrea Fraser’s map of the US shown in China today, another visualization of the “verbal,” I thought, yes, “right: to write _____” alone together would be an idea — especially to write along with others in a corner room of ones’ own belonging to a stately house that used to be a power station, yes, power.

10
“The Right to Write”, Installation view (Xu Shida part), “the 12th Shanghai Biennale: Proregress”, Power Station of Art, 2018. Photography by Huang Jingyuan. Courtesy of the artist.

Kyoo Lee, a member of AICA-USA, a Professor of Philosophy, Gender Studies and Justice Studies at the City University of New York, and the author of Reading Descartes Otherwise and Writing Entanglish, is a transdisciplinary philosopher, art/cultural/literary critic and writer.

A recipient of fellowships and visiting appointments from Cambridge University, CUNY Graduate Center, KIAS, the Mellon Foundation, the NEH, Seoul National University, Yanbian University, among others, her philopoetic texts have appeared in AICA-USA Magazine, Asian American Literary Review, The Brooklyn RailFlash ArtPN ReviewRandian, The Volta and the White Review as well as numerous academic journals and anthologies. Her Mellon-funded anthology, Queenzenglish.mp3: poetry | philosophy | performativity, with contributions from 50+ poets, musicians, theorists and performance artists from across the globe, is forthcoming.

The co-editor of philoSOPHIA: A Journal of transContinental Feminism, she also serves on the editorial boards of Asian Journal of Women’s Studies, Bloomsbury Studies in Critical Poetics, Open Humanities Press, Simon de Beauvoir Studies and Women’s Studies Quarterly.

Throughout her site-specific cogitographical practices, Q Professor Lee explores co-generative links between critical theory and creative prose including “art writing”.