>>
搜索 >>
EN
>>
<<
>> randian 《燃点》艺术网站  >> 关注+燃点  >>
2012.01.20 Friday, 文 / 墨虎恺 译 / 宋京
弗羽森访谈——先为收藏家,后为艺术品商人

弗羽森(Fabien Fryns)在比利时和瑞士成长,当仍然还在高中时就开始了他的艺术收藏之路。他的第一家画廊设于西班牙的马拉加,而在2004年他来到了北京,并在草场地开了一家画廊(F2画廊)。在那儿,他代理了一系列多样化的艺术家,从曾梵志到吴俊勇到孙逊。在2010年,弗羽森在洛杉矶开设了一家同名的画廊(弗羽森画廊),首次在美国西海岸代理如没顶和吴俊勇这样的艺术家。

墨虎恺:弗羽森,你出身自比利时。你是如何介入艺术的,特别是中国艺术?

弗羽森:我进入艺术圈相当的早,那时我大概才14岁。我的表兄弟夏威儿•哈弗肯斯(Xavier Hufkens)比我大5岁左右,那时在展示象安东尼•葛姆雷(Antony Gormley)、安德里斯•塞拉诺(Andres Serrano)和菲利克斯•冈萨雷斯-托雷斯(Félix González-Torres)之类的人。在那个时候,20世纪80年代中期,你可以用相当几百欧的价钱买纸上作品。那就是我购买的开始——我不能说那是收藏;我尽我所能把我的零花钱花在刀刃上。那时我在瑞士的萝实寄宿学校上学,我的同学开始问我该买什么。我们买格雷姆、卡普尔(Anish Kapoor)和让-米歇尔•巴斯奇亚)(Jean-Michel Basquiat)的作品。最贵的是一幅价值3000美元的巴斯奎特的纸上作品,尺寸大约是120 x 100厘米。那个代理很开心把它处理掉,因为在那个时候巴斯奎特并不受欢迎,但是当六个月后他过世时情形突然就变了。

Lucy Lu and Fabien Fryns.
鲁晓瑄和弗羽森。

我意识到通过出售作品,我就能够给自己买更多的作品。我想这就是我决定成为艺术代理的原因。除了与艺术家之间的联系,我非常享受将对收藏的热衷传递给别人的过程。中学以后,我选择了佳士得的艺术学位课程。我很在行新锐的当代艺术,但是我却对杜尚前的艺术世界一无所知。这用了两年时间。接着,为了躲避兵役,我又用四年时间学习商业管理。最后,在1994年24岁的那年,我在西班牙开了一家画廊,小镇紧邻马拉加,是毕加索的出生地。

墨:那中国艺术呢?

弗:我对中国艺术的首次体验是在2000年,我接触到那时生活在纽约的张洹的作品。我那时在马德里的ARCO[国际当代艺术]博览会上,在我展位边上的一位同行参展商正把张洹的摄影系列作品《Family Tree》挂起来。每一次经过我都会注意到它,一幅挨着一幅。到了布置结束、博览会开始时,我就买下了这一作品。

接着我发现张洹生活在纽约。那时我的姐姐正在纽约的一家画廊工作,因此我和她聊了以后,我很快意识到我购买作品的那个画廊有些厚颜无耻,并且非常贵的卖给了我。紧挨着我姐姐所在画廊的是前波画廊(Chambers Fine Art Gallery),而茅为清(Chris Mao)[前波画廊创办人]实际上是张洹儿子的教父。是茅为清建议我应该参加2004年第一届的全新艺术活动,名字叫CIGE[中国国际画廊博览会]。这就是我怎么介入中国艺术的。

墨:于是2004年是你进入北京的起点。

弗:我真希望我是2000年来的!在第一次拜访北京之后,第二年我在那儿开设了一家画廊。

墨:画廊有哪些精彩之处——不仅是展览,更广泛的成就上呢?

弗:中国,特别是北京,对我而言是一次充满惊喜的冒险。我很幸运是2004年来到这里,正好及时见证了发生在2006-2007年的繁荣。考虑到发生在中国的规模和程度,我想这样的繁容不会再在我的生命中出现的。而这仅仅只是个开始。除了与很多艺术家和艺术领域的专家建立起了非常好的工作关系和友谊,我特别引以为傲的是,在2008年北京奥运会期间,在巴黎的马约尔博物馆(Musée Maillol)举办的《中国金》艺术展览。虽然过程很复杂,但最终的结果对于参与各方仍然是值得的。我希望在我初来中国的几年,尽管我相当年轻,我仍能够与中国的艺术家们分享一些知识,也许能够在他们的事业发展上给予一点帮助。我意识到我是生活在梦中的事实,因为我认识很多中国艺术家,从享有名气的艺术家到新升的年轻艺术家。在西方绝对是不一样的。

Lucy Lu, Zeng Fanzhi and Fabien Fryns.
鲁晓瑄,曾梵志和弗羽森。

墨:你是什么时候遇到曾梵志的?

弗:遗憾的是,在第一次来北京之后,整整一年之后我才遇到他。在那之前,我拜访过很多工作室,每天都是从一家到另一家。但是他的工作室相当的孤零零,就在宋庄的附近。在真正注意到他的作品和与他见面之前,耗去了我整整一年的时间。转折发生在2005年,当我在CIGE活动上看到他的作品时,就像2000年我看到张洹的作品一样,它让我在行走的路途中驻足不前了。我是活动的参展商,并且尽管这幅特别的画并不出售,我在同一天还是从一位私人代理那里买入了我的第一幅曾梵志作品。很幸运的是这不久之后我就遇到了艺术家本人。我们都抽雪茄,我在一个开幕式看到他,而且我妻子结识了他,于是我们成了很好的朋友。

墨:那么到现在画廊已经运行了一些年了。是什么动机促使你在洛杉矶开设画廊?

弗:2007年的时候,我在洛杉矶开设了一家画廊,有一位当地的合伙人。最终我们解除了伙伴关系,在2010年3月以我个人的名义我重开了这家画廊。尽管画廊的重心是来自中国的当代艺术,但在加州这是一场艰苦的斗争。但是我对此有信心,特别是如果我个人花更多的时间在洛杉矶,我会实现这一目标,并且会使画廊和与我们合作的艺术家在美国西岸的地图上占有一席之地。

墨:在加州有其他的中国艺术专家吗?

弗:到目前据我所知,旧金山的切瑞•海恩斯是仅有的另一个人。当然我们是洛杉矶唯一的中国当代艺术方面的画廊。目前,我们进行的是纯粹中国人的项目,也许这很快就会有变化。我们最终兴许会加入一些西方艺术家。但是我们的首要想法是促进文化的交流。最初曾希望我的合伙人能够帮助在北京展示一些来自80年代的纽约艺术家,像大卫•萨利(David Salle)和彼得•哈雷(Peter Halley)之类的人。这些都没有实现,所以在目前我们进行展览的只有中国艺术家。

遗憾的是我在洛杉矶待得并不是很长时间。在那儿我有一位很好的画廊主持,尚端,但是她的背景更偏向于策展。人们应该将名字与长相对起来,不然就意味着牌子还没立起来。目前阶段,我仍然没有在洛杉矶建立起很好的联系。那里是一片非常具有生机的景象,但是更多的注意力是集中在加州的艺术家身上的。这就是我的印象。除了艾未未,洛杉矶的公众并不像他们的纽约同胞们一样知晓中国的当代艺术。甚至是张哓刚——在看到他的作品时,他们也许能够认出,但是他们并不知道他的名字。因此在洛杉矶,情况与北京或者纽约都有些细微的差别。

墨:那你看到潜力了吗?毕竟,在美国西岸,也包括加拿大的温哥华在内,有着全世界最大和最成功的华侨聚居区。新任的美国驻华大使,骆家辉来自西雅图,但是他的祖先却是来自广东台山县。

F2 Gallery, Beijing.
弗羽森画廊(北京)。

 

弗:是的,绝对有潜力!首先,有潜力发展新的客户和与机构建立新的联系。我们艺术家在博物馆的个展和群展同样也为我们提供了在我们画廊亮相的机会。最后,有一些艺术家我们无法在北京进行展览,因为他们由其他画廊代理或者无论其他什么原因(我们则能够在洛杉矶展览)。因此像没顶、艾未未、刘韡和胡哓媛这些艺术家,有很多项目都在规划中。当然,在洛杉矶的画廊仍然相当的新,而在中国我已经经营的相当好了,所以对于这个画廊已经有了一层信任的关系了。这非常的重要。

墨:你的客户是谁?

Fabien Fryns Fine Art, Los Angeles.
弗羽森画廊(洛杉矶)。

弗:我与10%的客户进行了90%的交易——通常都是长期的客户,主要是欧洲的。越来越多地,我们注意到更多的客户在国内发展起来了。但他们似乎更愿意在拍卖中购买,起码现在是如此。我们有很大量的需求,主要是来自欧洲和美国的,以及一小部分来自台湾、日本和印度尼西亚,也包括那些一路跟随我来到中国的寄宿学校的朋友们。五年前他们开始购买曾梵志的绘画作品,所以他们没有埋怨。

>>
SEARCH >>
EN
>>
<<
>> randian 燃点 art magazine >> fan randian 燃点 on weibo >> get randian 燃点 on email >> follow randian 燃点 on twitter >> friend randian 燃点 on facebook >>
2012.01.20 Fri, by Christopher Moore Translated by: 宋京
Interview with Fabien Fryns-On Becoming a Collector and then Art Dealer

Fabien Fryns grew up in Belgium and Switzerland and began collecting art while still in high school. His first gallery was in Malaga, Spain, but in 2004 he moved to Beijing and opened a gallery in Caochangdi (F2 Gallery). There he showed a diverse array of artists, from Zeng Fanzhi to Wu Junyong to Sun Xun. In 2010, Fryns launched an eponymous gallery in Los Angeles (Fabien Fryns Fine Art), presenting artists such as MadeIn and Wu Junyong on the American West Coast for the first time.

Lucy Lu and Fabien Fryns.
鲁晓瑄和弗羽森。

Chris Moore: Fabien, you are originally from Belgium. How did you become involved in art and particularly Chinese art?

Fabien Fryns: I became involved in art quite early on, when I was about fourteen. My cousin, Xavier Hufkens, who is about five years older than me, was showing Antony Gormley, Andres Serrano, Félix González-Torres, and people like that. At that time, mid-1980s, you could buy works on paper for the equivalent of a few hundred euros. So that’s what I started to buy — I can’t say collect; I was using all my pocket money the best way I could. I was in Le Rosey Boarding School in Switzerland and my friends started to ask me to advise them what to buy. We were buying works by Gormley, Anish Kapoor, and Jean-Michel Basquiat. The most expensive work was $3,000 for a large Basquiat work on paper, about 120 x 100 centimeters. The dealer was happy to get rid of it because at that time Basquiat was not so popular, which abruptly changed when he died six months later.

I realized that by selling works, I could afford to buy more works for myself. So I guess this is how I decided to become a dealer. Apart from contact with artists, I hugely enjoy passing on the collecting bug to others. Following school, I took the Christie’s fine art course. I was knowledgeable about cutting-edge contemporary art, but I didn’t know [anything] pre-Marcel Duchamp. This took two years. Then, to avoid the army, I studied business administration for four years. Finally in 1994, at the age of 24, I opened a gallery in Spain, next to Malaga, the town where Picasso was born.

CM: And Chinese art?

FF:My first introduction to Chinese art was in 2000, when I came across the work of Zhang Huan, who was living at the time in New York. I was at the ARCO [International Contemporary Art] Fair in Madrid and a fellow exhibitor nearby my booth was putting up a series of Zhang’s “Family Tree” photos. Each time I walked by I noticed it, panel by panel, and by the time the installation had finished and the fair opened, I’d purchased it.

Lucy Lu, Zeng Fanzhi and Fabien Fryns.
鲁晓瑄,曾梵志和弗羽森。

Then I found out that Zhang was living in New York. At the time my sister was working in a New York gallery, so I spoke with her and I quickly realized that the gallery I had bought from had been a bit cheeky and had hugely overcharged me. And the gallery that was next door to my sister’s gallery was Chambers Fine Art, and Chris Mao [Chamber’s founder] is in fact the godfather of Zhang Huan’s son. It was Chris who suggested that I participate in the first edition of a new art fair, CIGE [China International Gallery Exposition], in 2004. And that’s how I came to be involved in Chinese art.

CM: So 2004 is when you started going to Beijing.

FF: I wish I had come in 2000! I basically opened a gallery a year after my first visit.

CM: What have been the gallery’s high points — not just exhibitions, but broader achievements too?

FF: China, and Beijing in particular, has really been an amazing adventure for me. I was very lucky to arrive here in 2004, just in time to witness the boom that happened in 2006–7. I think that this type of boom will never occur again in my lifetime, given the scale and dimension of what took place in China. And this is only the start. Apart from having developed wonderful working relationships and friendships with many artists and professionals in the field, I am particularly proud of the China Gold exhibition that took place in the Musée Maillol in Paris during the Olympics summer of 2008. It was not a walk in the park to organize, but the end result was well worth it for all parties involved. I hope that in my early years in China I was able, despite my rather young age, to share some knowledge with artists in China that may have helped them in developing their careers. I am aware of the fact that I am living a dream, as I am on first name terms with so many Chinese artists, from the most established to the young up and coming. It would not have been the same in the West.

CM: When did you meet Zeng Fanzhi?

FF: I wish it had been earlier but unfortunately I only met him a full year after my first visit to Beijing. I visited many studios before that time, on a daily basis, going from door to door. But his studio was quite isolated, in the neighbourhood of Songzhuang, and it took me a year before I really noticed his work and met him. The revelation came in 2005, when I saw work of his at the CIGE Fair, and, just like with the Zhang Huan work in 2000, it stopped me dead in my tracks. I was an exhibitor at the fair, and although this particular painting was not for sale, I bought my first Zeng painting that same day from a private dealer. I was lucky to meet the artist shortly after that. We’re both cigar smokers, and I saw him at an opening and my wife befriended him and we became very good friends.

CM: So the gallery’s been running a few years now. What was the motivation to open a gallery in Los Angeles?

FF: In 2007 I launched a gallery in L.A. with a local partner. Eventually we dissolved the partnership, and I reopened in March 2010 under my own name. The focus is contemporary art from China, but it’s an uphill struggle in California. I am confident though that, especially if I put more time into being in L.A. myself, I will get there and put the gallery and the artists we work with on the map on the West Coast.

CM: Are there other Chinese art specialists in California?

F2 Gallery, Beijing.
弗羽森画廊(北京)。

FF: Cheryl Haines in San Francisco, as far as I know, is the only other one. Certainly we are the only one in Los Angeles. At present we have a purely Chinese program, although that may change soon. We might include some Western artists eventually. But our initial idea was to promote a cultural exchange. Originally it was hoped that my partner would help to show certain New York artists from the 80s, people like David Salle and Peter Halley, in Beijing. That wasn’t to be, so for the time being we are exhibiting only Chinese artists.

Unfortunately I’m not in L.A. all that much. I have a very good director there, Danielle Shang, but she’s more from a curatorial background. People should be able to put a face to a name, otherwise you haven’t done your job by building a presence there. At this stage, I’m still not so well connected in L.A. I need to spend more time there. But there is a lot going on in L.A. It’s a very vibrant scene, but much more focussed on Californian artists. That’s my impression. Apart from Ai Weiwei, the Los Angeles public is not as aware as their New York siblings about contemporary art in China. Even Zhang Xiaogang — they might recognise his works when they see them, but they don’t know his name. So in L.A. it’s a little different from either Beijing or New York.

CM: Do you see potential? After all, West Coast America, including Vancouver in Canada, has the biggest and most successful Chinese diaspora in the world. The new U.S. ambassador to China, Gary Locke, is from Seattle, though his ancestors are from Taishan in Guangdong.

FF:Yes, definitely! Firstly, there is potential to develop new clients and contacts with institutions. Solo and group shows of our artists in museums also provide an opportunity for us to showcase them in our gallery. And finally, some of the artists we cannot show in Beijing, because they are represented by other galleries or for whatever other reason. So with artists like MadeIn, Ai Weiwei, Liu Wei, and Hu Xiaoyuan, there are lots of projects in the pipeline. Of course, although the L.A. gallery is quite new, I’m quite well established in China, so there’s already a relationship of trust in place. That is very important.

Fabien Fryns Fine Art, Los Angeles.
弗羽森画廊(洛杉矶)。

CM: Who are your customers?

FF: I do ninety percent of my business with ten percent of my clients — usually long-standing, mainly European clients. Increasingly we notice more clients developing in Mainland China, but they seem to prefer to buy at auctions, at least for now. We get a lot of requests from Europeans and Americans, and a few from Taiwan, Japan, and Indonesia, including some of my friends from boarding school who followed me all the way to China. They started buying Zeng Fanzhi paintings five years ago, so they are not complaining.