>>
搜索 >>
EN
>>
<<
>> randian 《燃点》艺术网站  >> 关注+燃点  >>

展评搜索

日期
  从:
  至:
  日期格式: 1/30/2012
关键字
 
  >> 展评搜索
>> 确认订阅
2015.01.16 Friday, 文 / 译 / Fei Wu
2014年关渡双年展

识别系统:2014年关渡双年展
台北艺术大学关渡美术馆,2014.9.26-2014.12.14

与令人眩晕的巨兽般的大型双年展相比,关渡双年展无疑是整齐和安静的。坐落在台北市郊的台北艺术大学校园里,依山而建的关渡美术馆建筑面积不算很大,从2012年“艺想世界”开始,逐步确立了来自亚洲不同地区十位策展人提名十位艺术家的遴选方式和串联十位艺术家个展的展览方式,利用多个相对独立的小型空间实现较为延续性和完整性的个人面貌呈现,冀图在亚洲多个国家和地区之间交集出创作和论述的交流网络,对于许多中国大陆研究者来说,关渡双年展在2008年启动之初便确立的亚际视野还是一个有待开挖的问题域。

本届关渡双年展的主题“识别系统”延续了前几届主题宽泛而不失问题针对性的特点,对它的阐释既包括对于既已架构的各种系统乃至既成惯例、规则、认识的转换与颠覆,也包含针对各种思潮、主义冲击之下各领域面临的边界危机所作出的重新系统化和整合的努力。宽泛的主题、多位策展人分别提名的方式,使这个展览没有强势策展理念的压迫感,策展人各出其招、少有内在协调沟通的做法一方面使整个展览显得有些散漫和驳杂,却使各个板块之间获得了自在而有机碰撞的可能。

台湾艺术家高重黎的系列作品大致围绕电影媒介本身的思考展开,《幻灯简报电影系列006——秋刀鱼的滋味》中,以幻灯片与文字穿插、略带说教性的呈现方式,联系日本导演小津安二郎的军曹出身挖掘看似安详恬静的电影风格背后的军国主义色彩,以此闪回台湾日据和美援时代的殖民主义和新殖民主义的历史创伤,展开对于影像的侵略性和作为反殖民斗争武器可能性的思考。《我的陈老师》(2010)则是糅合了家庭录像、勾勒人物生平的铅笔速写幻灯片和文字说明,在表达陈映真这位反殖民文艺家崇敬之情的同时,不时插入小怪兽一般四处穿行的摄影机,通过打断影像流动的方式,将掉入崇高性催眠术牵引的观众打醒,加上幻灯片切换性的非连续特质,其本身就是对这位时刻保持审慎状态的时代敏感者的一种致敬。

Kao Chung-Li (Curator: Liu Yung-hao)高重黎 (策展人:刘永皓)

Kao Chung-Li (Curator: Liu Yung-hao)
高重黎 (策展人:刘永皓)

Kao Chung-Li (Curator: Liu Yung-hao)高重黎 (策展人:刘永皓)

Kao Chung-Li (Curator: Liu Yung-hao)
高重黎 (策展人:刘永皓)

与此相似的还有中国艺术家李纲的《废墟》(2013),以建筑材料砖头的介入完成对于水墨材质的提取转换,在媒介的突围探索之中融入了对于深陷推倒重建漩涡中的中国城市化进程的思考。

香港艺术家关尚智的《夜市》(2014)则是一个结合了台湾历史和社会心态的在地计划,从香港人对于充满世俗人情的台湾夜市生活的向往出发,挖掘看似寻常的夜市文化与政治的微妙关系。艺术家在模拟露天卡拉OK点歌台的布置中特意挑选了几首一代甜美歌后邓丽君不为人熟知的歌曲,搭配取自网络的邓丽君金门劳军和献演民主歌声献中华的现场图片,引导观者在诉说男女相思的哀婉歌声中发掘渡海政权难以言说的思乡之苦和重整旗鼓的热望,两性战争的宣言之中包含着两岸政治角力的隐喻。而另一组则邀请观者参与枪击气球的街头游戏,以黑白两色气球假想敌人和朋友,在快意恩仇的释放中引导观者展开对包裹其中的妒恨政治的反思。

Li Gang (Curator: Wang Huangsheng)李钢(策展人:王璜生)

Li Gang (Curator: Wang Huangsheng)
李钢(策展人:王璜生)

Li Gang (Curator: Wang Huangsheng)李钢(策展人:王璜生)

Li Gang (Curator: Wang Huangsheng)
李钢(策展人:王璜生)

泰国青年艺术家小组伪币工厂(Money Faketory)则创造了一个由观者参与的货币制造、贮藏和流通的新系统,观者自行绘制面值百元的钞票既可以在伪币银行里存取,也可以到廉价超市购物,还可以到赌场一局输赢,精心布置的亮闪霓虹灯、原始气息的热带植物以及高分贝循环播放的呛俗流行歌曲无不营造一种底层特有的反规则的生命能量和自由精神,然而在这个艺术家精心设计的视听乐园中享受消费盛宴的观者,能否分辨出这到底是对于现行流通规则的一种严肃抵抗,还是仅仅是一种无伤大雅的自娱自乐?

Money Faketory (Curator: Pichaya Aime Suphavanj)伪币工厂(策展人:皮夏雅•艾美•苏帕瓦妮)

Money Faketory (Curator: Pichaya Aime Suphavanj)
伪币工厂(策展人:皮夏雅•艾美•苏帕瓦妮)

除此之外台湾艺术家张永达的《相对感度N°1》(2014)和澳大利亚艺术家大卫·汉斯(David Haines)的《瓦勒迈·克里安》(2014)是两件从微观角度探讨人类知觉系统的作品,前者利用水滴降落在不同倾斜度的高温金属板所产生的不同速度水流和气化作用,产生或短或长的声响,在热浪的炙烤和颇具危险信号的刺刺拉拉声中充分搅动观者常常处于抑制状态的触觉和听觉,一同参与到作品的感知之中;后者则由一系列通过“克里安摄影术”创造的植物图像搭配艺术家在气味实验室调制出的特殊气味,在对嗅觉的有效调度中建立一种美术馆空间内的知觉识别系统,作为对视觉霸权的一种平衡。

身在这样一个小型双年展中,观者不会产生走马观花的焦虑感,多个相对独立小型空间的分割布局使观者能够聚合在单个艺术家作品情境之中,但同时却也分散了展览整体的气场。与此同时,渐成程式化的10位策展人+10位艺术家的结合方式到底能在多大程度上激荡区域交流活力,恐怕是展览筹备者需要思考的问题。

Kwan Sheung Chi (Curator: Anthony Yung)关尚智(策展人:翁子健)

Kwan Sheung Chi (Curator: Anthony Yung)
关尚智(策展人:翁子健)

David Haines (Curator: Jasmin Stephens)大卫•汉斯(策展人:洁丝敏•史蒂芬斯)

David Haines (Curator: Jasmin Stephens)
大卫•汉斯(策展人:洁丝敏•史蒂芬斯)

David Haines (Curator: Jasmin Stephens)大卫•汉斯(策展人:洁丝敏•史蒂芬斯)

David Haines (Curator: Jasmin Stephens)
大卫•汉斯(策展人:洁丝敏•史蒂芬斯)

>>
SEARCH >>
EN
>>
<<

FILTER REVIEWS

DATE
  FROM:
  TO:
  EX: 1/30/2012
KEYWORD
 
  >> Search reviews
>> Confirm subscribe
2015.01.16 Fri, by Translated by: Fei Wu
2014 Kuandu Biennale

Recognition System: 2014 Kuandu Biennale

Taipei National University of the Arts – Kuandu Museum of Fine Arts,  Sep 26–Dec 14, 2014

The Kuandu Biennale is without doubt orderly and subdued in contrast with the other dizzyingly-massive biennials out there. Located in the Taipei National University of the Arts on the outskirts of Taipei and hemmed in against the mountains, the Kuandu Museum of Fine Arts certainly is not large. Yet since “Artist in Wonderland” (2012), it has kept up a particular modus operandi: ten curators from different regions in Asia recommend ten artists for a series of ten solo exhibitions. With its relatively independent and smaller-scale spaces, the museum has been able to present a certain continuity and comprehensiveness while maintaining an individual look. In its attempt to create a network of discourse and exchanges spanning numerous countries and regions in Asia, the Kuandu Biennale’s pan-Asian perspective since being founded in 2008 is, for many Mainland Chinese researchers, a rich area of exploration.

The theme of this year’s biennale, “Recognition System”, remains characteristic of exhibitions in years past with its broad, yet pertinent questions. Interpretations of the theme not only encompass the conversion and subversion of various established systems and their de facto practices, rules and body of knowledge, but also extend to the struggle to re-establish and integrate systems in areas facing crises of boundaries from the impact of various ideological trends and doctrines. The biennale is free from the strictures of a strong curatorial concept due to its broad theme and curator-based nomination process; curators act independently of each other, with minimal internal coordination and communication. In a way, the entire exhibition feels somewhat lax and incoherent, but this is what allows greater possibilities for free and organic collisions among the separate modules.

The Taiwanese artist Kao Chung-Li’s series mainly revolves around reflections on film as a medium. “Slideshow Cinema VI—An Autumn Afternoon” intersperses film slides and text in a slightly didactic presentation, examining the militarism behind the Japanese director Yasujiro Ozu’s seemingly serene cinematic style by delving into the director’s military background. Instead of flashing back to Taiwan’s traumatic history of colonialism and neo-colonialism during its period of Japanese occupation and era of American aid, the work serves as a meditation on the possibilities of film as an anti-colonialist weapon against films that serve as tools of aggression and invasion. “My Mentor, Chen Yingzhen” (2010) combines the artist’s home videos, a slideshow of pencil sketches outlining the lives of historical figures, and texts. While expressing the artist’s reverence for Chen as an anti-colonialist artist, Kao also interjects with a small camera which darts across the screen from time to time. By interrupting the flow of the video work, the artist awakens the audience from the video’s sublime trance. Additionally, the sporadic use of the slide transitions are by nature a tribute to this ever-cautious and controversial figure.

Kao Chung-Li (Curator: Liu Yung-hao)高重黎 (策展人:刘永皓)

Kao Chung-Li (Curator: Liu Yung-hao)
高重黎 (策展人:刘永皓)

Kao Chung-Li (Curator: Liu Yung-hao)高重黎 (策展人:刘永皓)

Kao Chung-Li (Curator: Liu Yung-hao)
高重黎 (策展人:刘永皓)

The Chinese artist Li Gang’s “Ruins” (2013) is similar. Li extracts and transforms ink as a medium by intervening with materials and bricks, thus engaging in a meditation on the unstoppable whirlpool of reconstruction and urbanization in China.

The Hong Kong artist Kwan Sheung-Chi’s “Night Market” (2014) is an on-the-ground exploration of Taiwanese history and social psychology—taking as its point of departure Hong Kongers’ fascination with the worldly atmosphere of Taiwanese night markets and nightlife. The installation delves into seemingly the commonplace night market culture to examine its intricate political connections. The artist selected a few of Teresa Teng’s lesser-known songs to be played in a simulated open air karaoke stage. Sharing the stage with this voice of a generation are photographs from the singer’s Kinmen Island USO tour and her performance during the Concert for Democracy in China; while Teng sings melancholy songs of love, these photographs help audiences discover the bitter homesickness and the eagerness to begin all over again across the Taiwan Strait. Encompassed in these declarations of war between the sexes is an analogy of cross-strait political struggle. Another part of the installation invites audiences to play a carnival game of shooting balloons with toy guns—the black and white balloons representing imaginary friends and foes. With the participants’ delight in their revenge, the installation inspires viewers to reflect on the politics of envy connoted therein.

Li Gang (Curator: Wang Huangsheng)李钢(策展人:王璜生)

Li Gang (Curator: Wang Huangsheng)
李钢(策展人:王璜生)

Li Gang (Curator: Wang Huangsheng)李钢(策展人:王璜生)

Li Gang (Curator: Wang Huangsheng)
李钢(策展人:王璜生)

The young Thai art group Money Fakery has created a new system for manufacturing, storing and distributing currency through audience participation. After viewers illustrate their own bills, they are able to store the counterfeit currency in a counterfeit bank, purchase items from a discount supermarket, and even take the “money” to a casino for a round of gambling. The meticulously installed neon lights, the primal atmosphere created by tropical flora and high-decibel pop music played on a loop combine to create an energy and freedom specific to the rebellious lives of some of the underclass. As viewers lose themselves in the grand banquet of consumption presented by the artists’ carefully designed audiovisual playground, will they be able to discern whether the work is a serious attempt to resist current rules of circulation or merely consider it a harmless game played for self-entertainment?

Money Faketory (Curator: Pichaya Aime Suphavanj)伪币工厂(策展人:皮夏雅•艾美•苏帕瓦妮)

Money Faketory (Curator: Pichaya Aime Suphavanj)
伪币工厂(策展人:皮夏雅•艾美•苏帕瓦妮)

Elsewhere, the Taiwanese artist Chang Yung-Ta’s “Relative Perceptions No. 1” (2014) and the Australian artist David Haines’s “Wollemi Kirlians” (2014) both explore the minutiae of human sensory systems. In Chang’s installation, water drips onto heated metal plates set up at varying angles, resulting in differing rates of flow and gasification, which produce short or long bursts of sound. The sizzling of the heated metal plates triggers the audience’s primal reactions to danger, stimulating long-dormant tactile and auditory senses, drawing the audience into the work’s field of perception. Meanwhile, Haines’s installation pairs a special fragrance the artist created in his Aroma Studio with a series of images of plants taken with the Kirlian photography technique. By establishing a sensory recognition system within the museum space through effective manipulation of olfactory elements, the installation establishes some sort of sensory equilibrium within the viewer’s otherwise visually dominated senses.

In such a small-scale biennial, the viewer is under no anxiety about overlooking anything. With a small number of relatively independent spaces spread out across the museum, audiences are able to immerse themselves in individual artists and works, yet this strategy also fragments the cohesion of the biennale as a whole. At some point, the biennial’s curators should perhaps begin to consider to what degree this ever more formulaic approach of 10 curators + 10 artists is still able to stimulate discourse and exchange within the region.

Kwan Sheung Chi (Curator: Anthony Yung)关尚智(策展人:翁子健)

Kwan Sheung Chi (Curator: Anthony Yung)
关尚智(策展人:翁子健)

David Haines (Curator: Jasmin Stephens)大卫•汉斯(策展人:洁丝敏•史蒂芬斯)

David Haines (Curator: Jasmin Stephens)
大卫•汉斯(策展人:洁丝敏•史蒂芬斯)

David Haines (Curator: Jasmin Stephens)大卫•汉斯(策展人:洁丝敏•史蒂芬斯)

David Haines (Curator: Jasmin Stephens)
大卫•汉斯(策展人:洁丝敏•史蒂芬斯)