>>
搜索 >>
EN
>>
<<
>> randian 《燃点》艺术网站  >> 关注+燃点  >>

展评搜索

日期
  从:
  至:
  日期格式: 1/30/2012
关键字
 
  >> 展评搜索
>> 确认订阅
2017.08.18 Friday, 文 / (English) Sophie McKinnon 译 / 王丹艺
CONDO NYC:国际画廊组团couchsurfing纽约

CONDO NY,2017年6月29日到2017年7月28日

在纽约湿润夏季的一个月时间里,CONDO协同20家非纽约的画廊及其艺术家来到了纽约。该项目由伦敦经纪人Vanessa Carlos创办,并由Simone Subal和Nicole Russo引入纽约,CONDO的使命是高尚的,即:在挑战现存的模式同时“集中资源,共同行动”。具体来说,这意味着:由CONDO的团队接触过的纽约画廊,在长达一个月的时间内,为那些从世界各地奔赴而来的参展画廊所策划的展览腾了个地方。跟随在线地图(其设计像个核辐射地带),通过聚集在切尔西、翠贝卡区和下东区的16家纽约画廊,强化了社区内空间的存在,以及空间之间的距离。这一体系,没有艺博会的临床规格,有助于更加慎重的寻觅和观察,并促成与此活动有关的回报。实际上,该项目伴随着如此众多美好的愿望,而人们能从中得到什么是个奇迹。16家纽约画廊明显在与其客人(参展画廊)私下协商销售明细,另外,造访画廊的展览给画廊夏天的值班表免费增添了国际范儿 ,而负责接待的画廊则为运输和安装买单。最终,这事似乎不赚不赔,而且新奇地摆脱了常规。

一些画廊致力于将在他们那儿做客的参展商融入到其夏季展更宽泛的角色中去。例如, Bridget Donahue画廊接待了Project Native Informant画廊的喷绘艺术家Harumi Yamaguchi,并在其作品的旁边放上了Satoshi Kojima被洗刷过的色粉画。而其它的画廊仅提供了不起眼的楼上或楼下空间。在主题方面,虽然作品在Bridget Donahue画廊中显得无拘无束,但是Yamaguchi的作品似乎被放在了画廊前台。在那,工作人员坐在桌子前忙活着,同时,一条狗在一张位于情绪化的粉色美女照下方的毯子上打着盹。虽然给人的感觉热情体贴,但这不至于使画廊核心的项目逊色。

CONDO NY 2017 Map

CONDO NY 2017 Map

把CONDO比喻为一个非传统的艺博会有点误导人,因为它略去出入上的方便、画廊的超集中以及临时铺上地毯的VIP区。无论如何,它的确给画廊提供了一些存在于艺博会集中爆发的季节之外的业务。此外,虽然艺博会利用了季节性的购买和艺术市场的潮流,但CONDO谦虚地瞄准了年中画廊经营较清淡的月份。项目有点抢椅子游戏的调调:以Callicoon Fine Arts为例,它主持了2017年纽约版的Mother’s Tankstation Limited,而自己曾在2016年CONDO伦敦期间受到了Rodeo画廊的招待。就像往常的7月,画廊的开放时间变得不固定、当中的员工稀少,并且有关CONDO合作的信息有那么点“不该知道的就别知道”的意味。CONDO感觉更像是艺术界的“兄弟帮”。在这样的体系之下,纽约的画廊参与到一类由全球大大小小志趣相投的经纪人组成的不靠谱的集体中,吸引了原本并不想在这个夏天绘制份画廊地图的观众。在翠贝卡区办公大楼内的小画廊Queer Thoughts解释道,他们七月主要的交易是通过CONDO实现的(尽管没有把前来访问的艺术家Deborah Schamoni包括在他们A4画廊的指南中)。与另一家参展画廊聊天时,我们发现作品的开放度令人惊讶,并看到在没有商业责任的情况下,画廊愿意接受特别的合作性质。不管优点是什么,CONDO的模式似乎是奏效的,同时CONDO计划在2018年扩张至墨西哥和上海。

许多参展画廊依赖的人际关系,是经由艺博会的现场生成的,这也包括在大规模经济下实施资源优化配置的CONDO。后者,在认识世界各地的同行时,还需要对不同区域特定的艺术现场烂熟于心。Leo Xu Projects位于切尔西Metro Pictures楼上的策展,像是低调和富有挑战性的完美结合。此外,正如它对现场任何一件作品所做的那样,很好地述说了两个画廊之间的共生关系。随着画廊专属的艺术家被纳入其他画廊并发生交流,这样的动力机制提供了独特的自反体验。幸运的是,观众的门槛没有额外的提高。CONDO值得被点评,它拔开了艺术界的外衣,露出夏日的肌肤。

Queer Thoughts & Bridget Donahue

Queer Thoughts & Bridget Donahue

Queer Thoughts & Bridget Donahue

Queer Thoughts & Bridget Donahue

Queer Thoughts & Bridget Donahue

Queer Thoughts & Bridget Donahue

Queer Thoughts & Bridget Donahue

Queer Thoughts & Bridget Donahue

Gavin Brown Enterprises Grand St

Gavin Brown Enterprises Grand St

Gavin Brown Enterprises Grand St

Gavin Brown Enterprises Grand St

A New Ballardian Vision, installation view

A New Ballardian Vision, installation view (curated by Leo Xu; at Metro Pictures)

A New Ballardian Vision, installation view

A New Ballardian Vision, installation view (curated by Leo Xu; at Metro Pictures)

A New Ballardian Vision, installation view

A New Ballardian Vision, installation view (curated by Leo Xu; at Metro Pictures)

A New Ballardian Vision, installation view

A New Ballardian Vision, installation view (curated by Leo Xu; at Metro Pictures)

A New Ballardian Vision, installation view

A New Ballardian Vision, installation view (curated by Leo Xu; at Metro Pictures)

>>
SEARCH >>
EN
>>
<<
>> randian 燃点 art magazine >> fan randian 燃点 on weibo >> get randian 燃点 on email >> follow randian 燃点 on twitter >> friend randian 燃点 on facebook >>

FILTER REVIEWS

DATE
  FROM:
  TO:
  EX: 1/30/2012
KEYWORD
 
  >> Search reviews
>> Confirm subscribe
2017.08.18 Fri, by Sophie McKinnon Translated by: 王丹艺
CONDO NYC: Couchsurfing for Galleries

CONDO NY, June 29–July 28, 2017

For the duration of one of New York’s soupiest summer months, CONDO came to town bringing 20 non-New York galleries and a handful of artists with it. A project founded by the London dealer Vanessa Carlos, led in New York by Simone Subal and Nicole Russo, the CONDO mission is a noble one—to challenge existing models while “pooling resources and acting communally.” In concrete terms, this means New York galleries approached by the CONDO team make room for exhibitions curated by participating galleries from around the world for a month. Essentially, a commercial gallery residency program. Following the map online (which resembled a kind of nuclear fallout zone in its layout) through 16 New York galleries clustered in Chelsea, Tribeca, and the Lower East Side reinforced the presence of spaces in neighborhoods, as well as their distance from one another. This system, absent from the clinical regularity of art fairs, made for more considered seeking and looking and the rewards associated with such activities. In fact, the initiative glows with so much good will it is a wonder what anyone gets out of it. The sixteen New York galleries apparently negotiate privately with the galleries they host (along with a small fee for CONDO), and the visiting exhibitions add hands-free global cachet to their summer rota while those being hosted cover costs for shipping and install. In the end, it appears they break even. It is also refreshingly free of formula.

CONDO NY 2017 Map

CONDO NY 2017 Map

Some galleries made efforts to integrate guest exhibitors into the broader character of their summer shows—for instance, Bridget Donahue hosting Project Native Informant’s airbrush artist Harumi Yamaguchi alongside the pastel washed works of Satoshi Kojima—others simply provided space in a less obvious upstairs or downstairs level. Thematically, the works were at ease in Bridget Donahue, but Yamaguchi’s work seemed to be located in the gallery office antechamber, where staff sat around a table going about their business, and a dog snoozed on a blanket under one of Yamaguchi’s dewey pink pinups. The feeling was obliging, but not so obliging as to detract from the gallery’s core program.

The comparison of CONDO to an alternative art fair is somewhat misguided, as it is missing the obvious benefits of access, hyper concentration of galleries, and temporarily carpeted VIP areas. It does, however, give galleries some presence beyond fair season. And while art fairs capitalize on seasonal buying and the tides of the art market, CONDO unassumingly targets the slower mid-year months. The program had a slight air of musical chairs: Callicoon Fine Arts for example, hosting Mother’s Tankstation Limited in the 2017 New York iteration, having itself been hosted by Rodeo during CONDO London 2016. As befits July, gallery hours were odd, staff were sparse, and info on the CONDO collaboration was on a kind of need-to-know basis. Still, it felt like an art world “buddy system”, where New York galleries become participants in an unlikely collective of like-minded global dealers great and small, drawing visitors who might not ordinarily make an effort to chart gallery territory in the summer. Queer Thoughts, a tiny gallery in an aging Tribeca office building, explained that the majority of their July traffic had been through CONDO (despite not including the visiting artist Deborah Schamoni in their A4 gallery guide). Chatting to another participant gallery, we discovered a surprising degree of openness around the work on view, and a willingness to embrace the ad hoc nature of the collaboration without commercial responsibility. Whatever its merits, the model appears to be working, with CONDO slated to be expanding to Mexico City and Shanghai 2018.

Many participating galleries built on relationships generated through the fair scene, with CONDO also working the economies of scale to suggest pairings where appropriate. The latter requires dexterous knowledge of geographically specific art scenes, while understanding counterparts and cousins elsewhere. Leo Xu’s understated yet challenging curation in the upstairs of Chelsea’s Metro Pictures felt like a perfect union, and made as much of a statement about the symbiosis of the relationship between the two galleries as it did about any of the work on view. This dynamic lent the whole experience a distinctively meta feel, with artists featured by galleries embedded in other galleries who spoke to their artists. But with lower stakes, the visitor entry points were refreshingly no strings attached, and CONDO should be commended for stripping the art world down to its summer skin.

Queer Thoughts & Bridget Donahue

Queer Thoughts & Bridget Donahue

Queer Thoughts & Bridget Donahue

Queer Thoughts & Bridget Donahue

Queer Thoughts & Bridget Donahue

Queer Thoughts & Bridget Donahue

Queer Thoughts & Bridget Donahue

Queer Thoughts & Bridget Donahue

Gavin Brown Enterprises Grand St

Gavin Brown Enterprises Grand St

Gavin Brown Enterprises Grand St

Gavin Brown Enterprises Grand St

A New Ballardian Vision, installation view

A New Ballardian Vision, installation view (curated by Leo Xu; at Metro Pictures)

A New Ballardian Vision, installation view

A New Ballardian Vision, installation view (curated by Leo Xu; at Metro Pictures)

A New Ballardian Vision, installation view

A New Ballardian Vision, installation view (curated by Leo Xu; at Metro Pictures)

A New Ballardian Vision, installation view

A New Ballardian Vision, installation view (curated by Leo Xu; at Metro Pictures)

A New Ballardian Vision, installation view

A New Ballardian Vision, installation view (curated by Leo Xu; at Metro Pictures)