>>
搜索 >>
EN
>>
<<
>> randian 《燃点》艺术网站  >> 关注+燃点  >>

展评搜索

日期
  从:
  至:
  日期格式: 1/30/2012
关键字
 
  >> 展评搜索
>> 确认订阅
2018.07.05 Thursday, 文 / 朱荧荧 译 / Banyi Huang
人造场地

在“人造场地”中,赳赳利用计算机合成影像并置收集到的各类素材,从早期计算机图形学实验的影像资料、到虚拟人生游戏玩家体验;从黑科技玩笑视频,到迪士尼乐园3D建模……这些素材片段被集中在一起,在跳跃剪辑打散的叙事里,碎片化割裂了影像本身的时间线性,隐藏着他对影像生成和现实空间之间交互关系的一条思考线索:计算机程序的工作方式、设计软件的操作界面,在无形中规训着我们的思维方式和操作手法,导致了用户属性的同质化,并被投射到现实生活中,控制着生活方式的形成。在赳赳看来,这就是他所重视的影像/图像的主体性的显现。那些城市建筑在软件操作中的建模过程,如同世界的毁灭和重塑,又如同渲染了一次又一次的影像本身,在被建构的同时不停完善着自身的属性。

“人造场地 明日”,展览现场,2017 Fantastic Grounds - Tomorrow, installation view,2017

“人造场地 明日”,展览现场,2017
Fantastic Grounds – Tomorrow, installation view,2017

如此,为了完整展示,赳赳分别在两个不同的项目空间进行了逐步递进的尝试。IːProject 空间位于板桥胡同尽头的杂院民房之中,地上平铺了一层银色反光材料,黑色支架支起液晶显示屏,播放着“人造场地”的前半段;在泰康空间二楼的日光亭项目里,墙角处一根荧光灯管,深蓝色的光映满整个空间,三件影像在视觉内容上有从具象到抽象的变化。门槛处印着早期戴尔公司的广告语“Get more out of now”,仿佛是欲望即将生发的标志,但随之而来的问题是,人类到底能否掌控那个诞生于当下的未来世界呢?

《人造场地》,视频截帧,2017

《人造场地》,视频截帧,2017
“Fantastic Grounds”

《人造场地》,视频截帧,2017

《人造场地》,视频截帧,2017
“Fantastic Grounds”

也许这些场景布置营造了一种软硬兼施的科幻感,脑海中浮现起科幻电影的经典主题:科技对道德情感的胁迫,机器自身的欲望和野心……也许暴露出人类对自己掌控之外的科技发展的焦虑本质。在“人造场地”的片段里,几个年轻人在草地上暴力毁坏一个电脑,在这场不平等的对峙中,电脑只是一个毫无生机的物件,一个发泄对象,一个无力还击的弱者,这愤愤不平、看似荒唐的行为,在其他客观冷静的素材画面的映衬下,散发出悲观厌世的情绪。人类就像被束缚在一条条川流不息的信息高速公路上,喃喃自语着宇宙中那些无法被认知的内核和真理。主体是什么?主体究竟从何而来?墙上的影像开始凝固、变形、旋转,真实与虚假,主体与客体之间不停地相互转换。从笛卡尔开始显现的主体性被分解了,分解成无数个小而密集的个体,相互制约相互影响,没有统领者,也没有唯一的上帝。

“Making Good Things Go Better”,展览现场

“Making Good Things Go Better”,展览现场
“Making Good Things Go Better”, installation view

“Making Good Things Go Better”,展览现场

“Making Good Things Go Better”,展览现场
“Making Good Things Go Better”, installation view

从2016年在望远镜空间的个展“Making Good Things Go Better”,到2017年的“人造场地”项目,赳赳一直关注特定情境下的影像/图像在形成过程中的反作用力,可是抛开阐释本身,无论在艺术家的创作过程中或观众的观看体验中,电脑界面仍旧停留在被对象化的他者位置,对他者的好奇和旁观却不慎暴露了艺术家功利主义的倾向性,阻碍了他对这种主客体性质转变的现象背后更深层原因的挖掘。如果说对影像/图像生成进行溯源的目的是为了剖析影像/图像如何创造意义的方式,我们期待的也许不仅仅是素材拼贴式的罗列和铺陈,或对图像与概念之间象征式对应的运用,而是在对它所规训的目光和行为进行充分调查和认知的基础上,更具主动性地对模式化思维范式和日常逻辑观念的普遍质疑、批判分析直至完全颠覆,然后用颠覆后的逻辑方式对图像重新进行检验和组装。这确实是一条荆棘之路。我们接受了主客体变换状态的这一事实,却不能就此否认或逃避主体的存在,主体的任务是归纳原则和发现真理,而它们都隐匿于现代社会图像爆炸的表征背后,随时等待着一双手的捕捉。

《场地》,视频截帧,2017

《场地》,视频截帧,2017
“Grounds”

场地,2017

场地,2017
“Grounds “

>>
SEARCH >>
EN
>>
<<
>> randian 燃点 art magazine >> fan randian 燃点 on weibo >> get randian 燃点 on email >> follow randian 燃点 on twitter >> friend randian 燃点 on facebook >>

FILTER REVIEWS

DATE
  FROM:
  TO:
  EX: 1/30/2012
KEYWORD
 
  >> Search reviews
>> Confirm subscribe
2018.07.05 Thu, by Zhu Yingying Translated by: Banyi Huang
Fantastic Grounds: Jiu Jiu and the Politics of the Digital Image

In “Fantastic Grounds”, the artist Jiu Jiu juxtaposes computer-generated images with all manners of gathered materials: from early experiments with computer graphics and video to the experiences of gamers playing simulated games (like Sim Life), from hacked spoof videos to 3D models of Disneyland. These fragments are brought together and through the use of jump cuts inserted into the narrative, breaking up the linear temporality of the video. It also hides a thread of the artist’s ideas about the interrelation between image generation and real space: rather imperceptibly, the working modalities in computer programming and the operational interface in design software shape our modes of thought and our means of carrying out tasks, leading to a homogenization of the user, which is projected out into real life, influencing how lifestyles are formed. For Jiu Jiu, this is the manifestation of the subjectivity of the image/video. The process of creating architectural renderings of urban buildings, like the destruction and remodeling of the world, is like the constant rendering and re-rendering of the image itself, which simultaneously continues to improve upon itself.

“人造场地 明日”,展览现场,2017 Fantastic Grounds - Tomorrow, installation view,2017

“人造场地 明日”,展览现场,2017
Fantastic Grounds – Tomorrow, installation view,2017

As such, in order to ensure an integrated and complete exhibition, Jiu Jiu conducted step-by-step experiments in two different project spaces. I:Project Space, located in a courtyard house at the end of Banqiao Hutong, has floors painted with a layer of silver reflective material, while a black stand supports a LCD screen, which plays the first half of “Fantastic Grounds”. In the “Light Pavilion Project”, located on the second floor of Taikang Space, a florescent tube is placed in one of the corners, its blue light filling up the entire space where three videos play, their content transitioning from the abstract to the representational. The punchline of the show comes from an early printed advertisement from Dell, with the slogan “Get More Out of Now”—a symbol of the human desires which would soon emerge and which posed the ensuing question: could humanity actually control the future world then being birthed?

《人造场地》,视频截帧,2017

《人造场地》,视频截帧,2017
“Fantastic Grounds”

《人造场地》,视频截帧,2017

《人造场地》,视频截帧,2017
“Fantastic Grounds”

This exhibition creates a scene of punitive seduction—an “iron hand in velvet glove” sci-fi atmosphere—and introduces a number of classic science-fiction themes: the coercive nature of technology, its effect on ethics and morality, the innate desires and ambitions of machines, and the deep-seated human anxiety about the the threat of runaway technology. At one point in “Fantastic Grounds”, some young people aggressively hack apart a computer on the grass. In this deeply unequal struggle, the computer is only a lifeless object, weak and powerless, the unfortunate victim of their need to let off steam. Juxtaposed against other subjective, cold, calm imagery, this resentful, seemingly absurd act is imbued with pessimistic and nihilistic sentiments. It is as though humans are strapped in on the information highway—that non-stop flow of traffic—constant muttering to oneself and yet deaf to the unknowable truths and the essence of the universe. What is the subject? Where does the subject actually arise? As the images on the wall start to consolidate, transform, and spin, the real and the false, the subject and object become mutually convertible. The subjectivity that has emerged since Descartes has been disintegrated into an infinitesimal mass of densely packed individual entities, both restricting and influencing one other. There is no sovereign; there is no monotheistic god.

“Making Good Things Go Better”,展览现场

“Making Good Things Go Better”,展览现场
“Making Good Things Go Better”, installation view

“Making Good Things Go Better”,展览现场

“Making Good Things Go Better”,展览现场
“Making Good Things Go Better”, installation view

From his 2016 solo show “Making Good Things Go Better” at Telescope Space to “Fantastic Grounds” in 2017, Jiu Jiu has been concerned with looking at counteracting forces produced by the formation of images. But the computer interface still remains in the “othered” position of being objectified, whether it is in the artist’s artistic process or the audience’s viewing experience. This strange “onlooker” stance embodied in this “othering” carelessly exposes the artist’s utilitarian tendencies, and prevents him from digging deeper into the background of this phenomena—this transformation from subjecthood to objecthood. If the goal of tracing the origins of image formation is to dissect how images create meaning, perhaps we might expect more than simply a collage of materials, lists or elaborate descriptions, but rather comprehensive research and understanding of how images prescribe and discipline our gaze and behavior. What is needed is a more active and general questioning, critical analysis, or even a complete subversion of codified modes of thinking and everyday logic. Then this new, subversive logic could be used to reassess and reassemble these images anew—a somewhat thorny path to navigate. Even though we have accepted this inversion of the subject-object, there is no denying or running away from the existence of the subject; the task at hand is to sum up principles and discover truths. Yet these truths and principles are all hidden behind the surface phenomena of the explosion of images in contemporary society, awaiting capture by a pair of hands.

《场地》,视频截帧,2017

《场地》,视频截帧,2017
“Grounds”

场地,2017

场地,2017
“Grounds “